• PRO Courses Guides New Tech Help Pro Expert Videos About wikiHow Pro Upgrade Sign In
  • EDIT Edit this Article
  • EXPLORE Tech Help Pro About Us Random Article Quizzes Request a New Article Community Dashboard This Or That Game Popular Categories Arts and Entertainment Artwork Books Movies Computers and Electronics Computers Phone Skills Technology Hacks Health Men's Health Mental Health Women's Health Relationships Dating Love Relationship Issues Hobbies and Crafts Crafts Drawing Games Education & Communication Communication Skills Personal Development Studying Personal Care and Style Fashion Hair Care Personal Hygiene Youth Personal Care School Stuff Dating All Categories Arts and Entertainment Finance and Business Home and Garden Relationship Quizzes Cars & Other Vehicles Food and Entertaining Personal Care and Style Sports and Fitness Computers and Electronics Health Pets and Animals Travel Education & Communication Hobbies and Crafts Philosophy and Religion Work World Family Life Holidays and Traditions Relationships Youth
  • Browse Articles
  • Learn Something New
  • Quizzes Hot
  • This Or That Game
  • Train Your Brain
  • Explore More
  • Support wikiHow
  • About wikiHow
  • Log in / Sign up
  • Job Application Documents
  • Cover Letters

How to Write an Application Letter

Last Updated: May 6, 2024 Fact Checked

This article was co-authored by Alexander Ruiz, M.Ed. . Alexander Ruiz is an Educational Consultant and the Educational Director of Link Educational Institute, a tutoring business based in Claremont, California that provides customizable educational plans, subject and test prep tutoring, and college application consulting. With over a decade and a half of experience in the education industry, Alexander coaches students to increase their self-awareness and emotional intelligence while achieving skills and the goal of achieving skills and higher education. He holds a BA in Psychology from Florida International University and an MA in Education from Georgia Southern University. There are 7 references cited in this article, which can be found at the bottom of the page. This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources. This article has been viewed 173,707 times.

Application letters are typically written to accompany school or job applications. The purpose of the letter is to introduce yourself to the decision committee, and to outline your qualifications in a specific way. It can be the only time other than an interview that you have a chance to really stand out in an application, so it's important to get it right. You can learn what to include in your letter, how to style it, and how to format it to give yourself the best chance.

Application Letter Templates

simple application letter for school

Writing a Job Application

Step 1 Say why you're writing and what you're applying for in the first sentences.

  • A good example would be: "I'm writing to apply for the Chimney Sweep position advertised in Rolling Stone. I think my experience in the heating industry makes me uniquely qualified for this position. Please find my application materials and a brief description of my qualifications below."
  • Don't write your name until the signature. It'll be in the header and in the sign-off, so there's no reason to put it in the body of the letter itself.

Step 2 Explain why you are the best candidate.

  • Be specific. Who are you? Where do you come from? What's your story? These details are important. HR screeners read hundreds of these.
  • Describe your ambitions. Where do you want to go? How will this opportunity help you get there?
  • What skills and experiences make you the right fit? Be as specific as possible and avoid vague language. It's better to describe a time you solved a specific problem at your last job than to just write, "I'm a good problem solver at work."

Step 3 Keep the tone professional.

  • Tailor it to the business. If you're applying to work at a record store, you need to talk about music. If you're applying to work at a tech company that writes, "Tell us something totally rad about yourself!" it's probably ok to be a little more informal.

Step 4 Explain how both parties will benefit from your selection.

  • Don't over-promise. Telling someone that you can guarantee that you'll be able to turn around their sales figures in six months or less is a good way to get fired in six months.

Step 5 Do some research.

  • Any kind of job requires this type of research. If you apply to a restaurant, you need to be familiar with the menu and the kind of customers the restaurant attracts. Consider eating there a few times before you apply.
  • Don't show you're familiar by criticizing a business and telling them what you can do better. Not the time to offer a harsh criticism of a business plan that you don't really know anything about.

Writing a School Application

Step 1 Address the prompt.

  • Common prompts include things like, "Outline your qualifications for this position" or "In writing, explain how this position would affect your career goals." Sometimes, the prompt will be as short as, "Tell us something interesting about yourself."
  • If there is no prompt, but you still feel the need to introduce your application with a letter, it's usually best to keep it as short as possible. Explain what you're applying for, why you're applying, and thank the contact for their consideration. That's it.

Step 2 Tell your story.

  • Often, college prompts will ask you to describe a time you struggled, or a time you overcame some obstacle. Write about something unique, a time that you actually failed and dealt with the consequences.
  • The board will get thousands–literally, thousands–of letters about someone's first mission trip, and letters about the time someone's sports team was beaten, then overcame the odds, and won again. Avoid these topics.

Step 3 Write about your future.

  • Be specific. If you're writing to a college board, don't say, "I want to go to this college because I need a degree." That's obvious. What do you want to do with it? Why? If you're applying to a business, don't say, "I just need a job." That's obvious. Why this specific job?

Step 4 Don't include stuff that's also on your resume.

  • If you're applying to schools, what do you like about the school? What faculty are you interested in? Why this school, instead of another?

Formatting Application Letters

Step 1 Keep it short.

  • If you don't get a word-count guideline, just focus on making one or two good points about yourself, and keeping it at that. No need to drone on four several pages.

Step 2 Only address the letter if you have someone to address it to.

  • Instead of a salutation, write, "Letter of Application" at the top left corner of the page, or put it in the header on the left side at the top.
  • If you do have a contact, address it to them, making sure the name is spelled correctly. Then space down and start the body of the letter. [10] X Research source

Step 3 Use a standard font.

  • Sometimes, it's appropriate to type your name, then print out the letter and sign it in pen. That can be a nice touch.

Step 5 Put your contact information in the header.

  • Mailing address
  • Telephone and/or fax number

Expert Q&A

Alexander Ruiz, M.Ed.

  • Remember to be formal at all times. Do not use abbreviations anywhere. Thanks Helpful 0 Not Helpful 1

simple application letter for school

You Might Also Like

Write a Letter

  • ↑ https://www.indeed.com/career-advice/finding-a-job/how-to-write-an-application-letter
  • ↑ https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/subject_specific_writing/professional_technical_writing/tone_in_business_writing.html
  • ↑ Alexander Ruiz, M.Ed.. Educational Consultant. Expert Interview. 18 June 2020.
  • ↑ https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/types-of-writing/admission-letters/
  • ↑ https://wts.indiana.edu/writing-guides/personal-statements-and-application-letters.html
  • ↑ https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/job_search_writing/job_search_letters/cover_letters_1_quick_tips/quick_formatting_tips.html
  • ↑ https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/assignments/coverletters/

About This Article

Alexander Ruiz, M.Ed.

To format an application letter, start by including your name and contact details in the document header. When choosing a greeting, only use one if you know the person's name your writing to. Otherwise, give the document a title, like "Letter of application" at the top of the page. For the body of the letter, aim to write no more than 1 page of single-spaced paragraphs using a standard font. Finally, conclude your letter with a formal greeting like "Sincerely yours." For tips on how to write a job application letter, read on! Did this summary help you? Yes No

  • Send fan mail to authors

Did this article help you?

simple application letter for school

Featured Articles

How to Get a Nice Body

Trending Articles

Why Is My Facebook Feed All Ads and Suggested Posts?

Watch Articles

Put a Bracelet on by Yourself

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Info
  • Not Selling Info

Get all the best how-tos!

Sign up for wikiHow's weekly email newsletter

Letter Templates

application letter sample for senior high school student

application letter sample for senior high school student 1

Are you a senior high school student who needs to write an application letter? Look no further! In this article, we provide seven examples of application letters that you can use as a guide. Don’t worry if you’re not sure where to start or what to say – we’ve got you covered.

As a senior high school student, you may be required to write an application letter for various reasons. This letter is a formal way of expressing your interest in something or requesting something. It could be for a scholarship, admission into a university, or even a job. Whatever the reason, it’s important to write a letter that is clear, concise, and professional.

You may be wondering how to go about writing an application letter that meets these criteria. Luckily, there are plenty of resources available to help you. In this article, we provide seven examples of application letters that you can use as a starting point. These letters are written in different styles and for different purposes, so you can find one that best fits your needs. You can even edit them as needed to tailor them to your specific situation.

To make it easy for you to find what you’re looking for, we’ve organized the examples by reason. Simply choose the one that best fits your situation and use it as a guide for writing your own letter.

Application Letter Samples

Letter of application for scholarship.

Greeting: Dear Scholarship Committee,

Letter Body:

I am writing to apply for the scholarship offered by ABC Organization. As a senior high school student with a passion for science, I am excited about the opportunity to continue my education at the college level. Unfortunately, my family is unable to afford the cost of tuition, which is why I am applying for this scholarship.

The scholarship would enable me to pursue my dream of becoming a scientist, and I am confident that I would be an asset to your program. I have maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout my high school career and have participated in several science fairs and research projects. I am dedicated, hardworking, and eager to learn.

Complimentary Close: Sincerely,

Letter of Application for Admission to University

Greeting: Dear Admissions Committee,

I am writing to express my interest in attending XYZ University. As a senior high school student with a passion for literature, I am excited about the opportunity to continue my education at your esteemed institution. I have researched your university extensively and am impressed by your commitment to academic excellence and diversity.

I believe that XYZ University would provide me with the resources and support I need to achieve my academic and personal goals. I am a hardworking and dedicated student with a 3.8 GPA and a love for learning. I have participated in several extracurricular activities, including the school newspaper and debate team, which have helped me develop my writing and critical thinking skills.

Complimentary Close: Thank you for considering my application.

Letter of Application for Part-Time Job

Greeting: Dear Hiring Manager,

I am writing to apply for the part-time job opening at ABC Company. As a senior high school student with a strong work ethic and excellent communication skills, I believe that I would be an asset to your team. I am excited about the opportunity to gain experience in the workforce while also earning a paycheck.

I have experience working in customer service and am comfortable interacting with people from all walks of life. I am reliable, responsible, and able to work flexible hours. I am confident that I would be able to learn quickly and contribute to the success of your company.

Complimentary Close: Best regards,

Letter of Application for Internship

I am writing to apply for the internship position at XYZ Company. As a senior high school student with a passion for marketing, I am excited about the opportunity to gain hands-on experience in the field. I am impressed by your company’s innovative approach and commitment to social responsibility.

I am a hardworking and dedicated student with a 3.9 GPA and a love for learning. I have taken several marketing and business courses and have also participated in a marketing competition, where my team won first place. I am eager to apply the skills and knowledge I have gained to a real-world setting and contribute to the success of your company.

Letter of Application for Recommendation

Greeting: Dear Professor Smith,

I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing to request a letter of recommendation for my college applications. As a senior high school student with a passion for English literature, I am applying to several highly competitive schools and believe that your endorsement would greatly enhance my chances of admission.

I have greatly enjoyed your classes and appreciate your dedication to your students. Your insights and guidance have inspired me to pursue a career in academia, and I hope to one day make the same impact on my own students. I am confident that your letter will showcase my strengths and potential as a student and scholar.

Complimentary Close: Respectfully,

Letter of Application for College Readmission

I am writing to request readmission to XYZ University for the upcoming semester. As a senior high school student, I struggled to balance my academic and personal responsibilities and ultimately fell behind in my coursework. However, I have taken steps to address these issues and am eager to return to college and continue my education.

I have enrolled in several online courses and have also been working with a tutor to improve my study habits and time management skills. I am confident that I am now better equipped to succeed in college and am committed to making the most of this opportunity.

Complimentary Close: Thank you for your consideration.

Letter of Application for Volunteer Position

Greeting: Dear Volunteer Coordinator,

I am writing to apply for the volunteer position at ABC Organization. As a senior high school student with a passion for social justice, I am excited about the opportunity to contribute to your mission and make a positive impact on the community.

I have volunteered at several local organizations and am comfortable working with people of all ages and backgrounds. I am reliable, responsible, and have excellent communication skills. I am committed to making a difference and am eager to learn from the experienced professionals at your organization.

Tips for Writing an Application Letter

When writing an application letter, it’s important to keep the following tips in mind:

  • Start with a clear and concise introduction that explains the purpose of the letter.
  • Use a professional tone and language. Avoid slang and abbreviations.
  • Be specific about your accomplishments and qualifications. Provide examples and evidence to support your claims.
  • Address the letter to the appropriate person or organization.
  • Proofread the letter carefully for grammar and spelling errors.
  • End with a polite and gracious complimentary close.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: what should i include in my application letter.

Your application letter should include a clear introduction that explains the purpose of the letter, a brief explanation of your qualifications and accomplishments, and a polite and gracious closing.

Q: How long should my application letter be?

Your application letter should be no more than one page long, single-spaced.

Q: How do I address the letter?

Make sure to address the letter to the appropriate person or organization. If you’re not sure who to address it to, do some research to find out.

Q: Should I include my GPA and test scores in my application letter?

If they are relevant to the purpose of the letter, then yes. For example, if you’re applying for a scholarship, you may want to include your GPA and test scores to showcase your academic achievements.

Q: Should I mention any weaknesses or challenges in my application letter?

No. Your application letter should focus on your strengths and accomplishments, not your weaknesses. If you do need to address a weakness or challenge, do so in a positive and proactive way.

Q: Can I use a template for my application letter?

Yes, you can use a template as a starting point. However, make sure to tailor the letter to your specific situation and needs.

Q: How should I follow up on my application letter?

If you haven’t heard back after a week or two, it’s appropriate to follow up with a polite email or phone call. Thank the person for their time and consideration and ask if there’s any additional information you can provide.

As a senior high school student, writing an application letter may seem daunting. But with the help of these examples and tips, you can write a letter that showcases your strengths and potential. Remember to be clear, concise, and professional, and don’t be afraid to ask for help if you need it. Good luck!

  • application letter sample for ojt senior high school
  • application letter sample for senior high school immersion
  • application letter sample for immersion senior high school
  • application letter format for tc from school
  • application letter sample for grade 11
  • application letter example for students

Privacy preference center

We care about your privacy

When you visit our website, we will use cookies to make sure you enjoy your stay. We respect your privacy and we’ll never share your resumes and cover letters with recruiters or job sites. On the other hand, we’re using several third party tools to help us run our website with all its functionality.

But what exactly are cookies? Cookies are small bits of information which get stored on your computer. This information usually isn’t enough to directly identify you, but it allows us to deliver a page tailored to your particular needs and preferences.

Because we really care about your right to privacy, we give you a lot of control over which cookies we use in your sessions. Click on the different category headings on the left to find out more, and change our default settings.

However, remember that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience of our website. Finally, note that we’ll need to use a cookie to remember your cookie preferences.

Without these cookies our website wouldn’t function and they cannot be switched off. We need them to provide services that you’ve asked for.

Want an example? We use these cookies when you sign in to Kickresume. We also use them to remember things you’ve already done, like text you’ve entered into a registration form so it’ll be there when you go back to the page in the same session.

Thanks to these cookies, we can count visits and traffic sources to our pages. This allows us to measure and improve the performance of our website and provide you with content you’ll find interesting.

Performance cookies let us see which pages are the most and least popular, and how you and other visitors move around the site.

All information these cookies collect is aggregated (it’s a statistic) and therefore completely anonymous. If you don’t let us use these cookies, you’ll leave us in the dark a bit, as we won’t be able to give you the content you may like.

We use these cookies to uniquely identify your browser and internet device. Thanks to them, we and our partners can build a profile of your interests, and target you with discounts to our service and specialized content.

On the other hand, these cookies allow some companies target you with advertising on other sites. This is to provide you with advertising that you might find interesting, rather than with a series of irrelevant ads you don’t care about.

High School Student Cover Letter Samples & Examples That Worked in 2024

Julia Gergelova — Certified Professional Résumé Writer

For high school students who are striving to earn a part-time position, an internship, or any other type of extracurricular work, writing a great cover letter is the first key step to take.

Since many high school students do not have a long work history yet, this can require some extra time and cleverness to frame high-school-level experiences compellingly.

No Work Experience Cover Letter Template

But fret not, in this guide, we teach you exactly how to write an effective cover letter as a high school student. Continue reading to learn all about:

  • Crafting a memorable cover letter header as a high school student
  • Tailoring your high school student cover letter to be specific to the reader
  • Writing an eye-catching introduction for your high school cover letter
  • Highlighting your skills and academic experiences as a high school student
  • Persuasively concluding your high school student cover letter
  • Finding useful resources for job-seeking high school students

Let’s jump into the first step and begin crafting the ideal high school student cover letter!

1. How to craft a memorable cover letter header as a high school student

As a high school student, your top priority when writing a cover letter is to make it look professional.

High school students can often overlook the importance of visual design when writing cover letters, as they are more focused on making the letter’s content sound good.

Yet, a great-looking and professional cover letter format can go a long way in impressing employers.

In your cover letter header, you should include:

  • Your name and academic position
  • Your contact information
  • The name of the company you are applying to
  • The address of the company you are applying to

Here is an example of a well-formatted high school student cover letter header

Molly Madison , High School Class President (123) 456-7890 | [email protected] | linkedin.com/in/molly-madison

To: Jackson’s Downtown Boutique & Shoppe Gallery 1234 Street Address Phoenix, AZ

Use artificial intelligence to create your resume — FAST!

2. how to properly tailor your high school student cover letter.

After giving your cover letter an excellent visual structure and flow, your next step is to tailor the greeting and content of your high school student cover letter .

Tailoring a cover letter means making the information as relevant to the reader as possible. For instance, if you are applying to work in an ice cream shop, describing how your skills can be applied to customer service and food safety are good ways to make your letter relevant to the job.

Additionally, you should address your cover letter to the person who is most likely to read and review it, such as a company’s owner or a head manager.

Here are 3 examples of personalized cover letter greetings

Dear Mr. John Doe,

  • Dear Hiring Manager John Doe,
  • Dear Mr. John Doe & the Hiring Department,

3. How to write an eye-catching introduction for your high school student cover letter

When applying for jobs as a high school student, you are likely not going to have an extensive work history to showcase in your cover letter.

To make up for this, you need to ensure each detail you write is as eye-catching and compelling as possible. It is especially important to pay extra attention to your introduction , as an introductory paragraph can often be the thing that either impresses employers or makes them lose interest.

The best high school cover letter introductions should include:

  • A brief overview of your academic history (academic performance, extracurriculars, etc.)
  • Any key roles you have held in your academic history (leadership roles, athletics, etc.)
  • A brief statement on what you are passionate about (this should be relevant to the role, position, or opportunity you are applying for)

Here is an example of a great introduction from a high school student cover letter

I am a junior at Rowe County High School seeking my first job in the outdoor recreation industry. As a student, I helped to start an Outdoor Program club that now has 30+ members and takes students on chaperoned adventures, such as hiking and camping. Your company is a staple in the local outdoor community and gaining this job would provide me with the opportunity to both practice my passion and learn more about the industry. 

Find out your resume score!

Resume Analytics

4. How to highlight your skills and academic experiences as a high school student

With your introduction out of the way, you can now begin writing your cover letter’s body paragraphs.

Many people choose to break up their body paragraphs into smaller, simple sentences. Additionally, bullet points can be used to keep your body paragraphs more organized and easy to skim over.

When writing these body paragraphs, your main goal is to describe your best skills and accomplishments as a high school student. You should select skills and accomplishments that are highly relevant to the position you are applying for.

Here are 6 examples of skills to include in a high school student cover letter

  • Communication skills (describe your exact style of communication)
  • Leadership and teamwork
  • Time management
  • Conflict resolution
  • Problem-solving
  • Critical thinking

Here is an example of how to describe an accomplishment in a high school student cover letter

As a student at Monroe High School, I won the election for Class President two years in a row during my sophomore and junior years. This year, I am serving as the Senior Class President, which comes with greater responsibilities, including management of the school spirit budget.

5. How to persuasively conclude your high school student cover letter

To conclude your high school student cover letter, you must write a persuasive closing statement that encourages the reader to get in touch with you promptly.

Remember to maintain your professionalism in your conclusion as well by including a formal sign-off.

Here is an example of a persuasive closing statement from a high school student's cover letter

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to read my letter and look forward to hearing from you in the near future. As I am still in school, the best hours to reach me are in the early morning between 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. or in the late afternoon from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. It would be my honor to work at your company and I hope to hear from you within the next week about my application.

Many Thanks,

[Applicant Name]

6. Key resources for job-seeking high school students

Before we wrap things up, let's not forget one last crucial element — resources for your job hunt. As a high school student, there's a wealth of tools out there to assist you in navigating this exciting path. Here are some you should definitely bookmark:

  • Career counseling: Many high schools provide career counseling services to students. They offer guidance in identifying potential career paths, preparing for interviews, and even finding job opportunities.
  • Online job boards:  Websites like Indeed , Monster , or LinkedIn offer a range of part-time, intern, and entry-level positions perfect for high school students. You can filter by your area of interest, location, and other parameters.
  • Local resources:  Don't overlook local resources like community job boards, local newspapers, and libraries. They often list part-time jobs in your immediate area, ideal for high school students.
  • Networking:  This can be beneficial, even for high school students. Connect with teachers, family friends, and alumni in your desired field for potential job leads and advice.
  • Job readiness workshops:  Some communities offer workshops to help high school students prepare for the job market, providing tips on resume writing, interviewing, and soft skills development.
  • Volunteer work:  Volunteering can provide valuable experience and skills that employers look for. Websites like VolunteerMatch  or local community centers can point you towards opportunities.

Kickstart your job search by leveraging these resources and step into the professional world with confidence. Good luck!

High School Student Cover Letter FAQ

How long should my high school student cover letter be.

Your cover letter should not exceed one page — it should be concise and to the point. Around 3-4 short paragraphs are generally sufficient. 

Should I follow up after sending my cover letter and resume?

Yes, it's a good idea to follow up if you haven’t heard back after a week or two. You can send a polite email asking about the status of your application. This shows you're genuinely interested in the role. 

What if I don’t have any work experience?

That's okay! You can highlight your academic achievements, extracurricular activities, volunteer work, or any skills that are relevant to the job you're applying for. Remember, everyone has to start somewhere! 

Do I need a tailored cover letter for each application?

Yes, you should tailor your cover letter for each job application. It demonstrates that you've done your research on the company and the specific role, which will impress employers. 

How should I address my cover letter if I don't know who the hiring manager is?

If the job posting doesn't provide a name and your research doesn't reveal who the hiring manager is, it's acceptable to use a general salutation like, "Dear Hiring Manager" or "Dear [Company Name] Team."

Julia Gergelova — Certified Professional Résumé Writer

Julia Gergelova

Julia is a Certified Professional Résumé Writer (CPRW™) and an active member of the Professional Association of Résumé Writers & Career Coaches (PARWCC™). She is also a passionate translator and graphic designer. Julia holds degrees in translation and interpretation and has international work experience in various countries across Europe, as well as in China and Panama. Julia formerly taught academic writing and contributed as a graphic designer to outlets such as The Business of Business. You'll often find her with a book in one hand and a specialty coffee in the other, always on the lookout for new insights.

All student cover letter examples

  • Formal Sciences Student
  • Humanities Student
  • Student Internship
  • Natural Sciences Student
  • Professions And Applied Sciences Student
  • Social Sciences Student
  • University Student

All high school student cover letter examples

Example Cover Letter for Teenager

Related high school student resume examples

Intern at Xactly Corporation Resume Sample

Let your resume do the work.

Join 5,000,000 job seekers worldwide and get hired faster with your best resume yet.

english template

ScholarshipAir

  • 12 Scholarship Application Letter Samples (PDF, DOC)

Published: 03 May 2024 Scholarship Application 1,962 views

12 Scholarship Application Letter Samples (PDF, DOC)

A scholarship application letter is a formal letter written by a student to an organization that provides financial assistance to support a student's education. Scholarships are available to students of all levels of education, from high school to postgraduate level.

If you're a student, applying for scholarships is one of the best ways to fund your education and a well written scholarship application letter is required to help you get one.

In a scholarship application letter, you will be expected to provide useful information about your accomplishments as a student and why you think you're a deserving candidate.

Before you start drafting your scholarship letter, review the requirements for the scholarship. This will help you have a better understanding of the ideal candidate the scholarship committee requires. You'll also know the credentials and information to include in your letter.

In this guide, we will discuss how to write a good scholarship application letter, a good application letter format and also provide 12 scholarship letter templates for you to download in pdf format.

What is a Scholarship Application Letter?

A Scholarship Application Letter is a formal letter a student writes to a scholarship committee to persuade them to be considered for a scholarship opportunity.

In a scholarship application letter, students are required to highlight their academic achievements as well as relevant skills and experiences that may not be outlined in their resume.

How to Write a Scholarship Application Letter?

Writing a scholarship application letter requires thorough understanding of the steps to write a good application. 

If you want to learn how to write the best scholarship application letter that will guarantee a positive response from the scholarship review community, follow the steps below;

Always start your scholarship application letter with a professional salutation.

Keep your letter short, a good scholarship letter typically ranging from 300 to 500 words. 

Ensure you give a clear reason for applying for the scholarship.

Always introduce yourself properly

Write about your relevant academic achievements, work experience, extracurricular activities, and any skills you may have.

Explain why you need the scholarship and how it will help you achieve your academic and career goals.

Write about your long term goals and close your letter with a strong conclusion summarizing key points in the letter.

Proofread your letter before submitting. You can give your letter to a friend to proofread for you- good scholarship application letters do not have typos or grammatical errors.

Always thank the scholarship committee for taking their time to read your letter and consider you for the scholarship.

Follow the correct scholarship letter format 

Application for Scholarship Format

To write a good scholarship application letter, you have to be familiar with its structure.

Following the right scholarship format will help you compose your letter in a better way. A scholarship application letter has six major components which includes; the header, the salutation, introduction, the body, the conclusion and the closing. 

The body of the letter contains the most important details required by the scholarship committee and it is usually divided into 2 or 3 paragraphs.

Here, we'll discuss the different components of a scholarship application letter. Keep reading to find out more.

Header: The header is the first part of a scholarship application letter located at the top of the letter.  It should include your complete contact information such as your name, address, phone number, and email address.

You can also include the title of the letter typed in a bold font.

Salutation: Next is a professional salutation to begin the scholarship application letter. Examples of salutations you may use include; "Dear Scholarship Committee" “Respected Sir/Ma” or "To Whom It May Concern."

Introduction: After the salutation is the introductory paragraph. This is the official first paragraph of the letter where the scholarship applicant is expected to briefly introduce themselves and state the purpose of the letter.

The introduction can be written in three to five concise sentences. 

An important tip to keep in mind when writing your introduction is to keep things as straight to the point as possible.

Body: the body of a scholarship application letter is where the main content lies. In the body of the letter, you'll provide details about your academic achievements, extracurricular activities, and any relevant experiences that will convince the scholarship committee to grant you the scholarship.

As we discussed earlier, the body of a scholarship application letter can be divided into 3 paragraphs. Let's discuss each of the paragraphs.

First Paragraph: in the first paragraph, write about your academic achievement and record. You can outline all the degrees you have gotten and their grades, you can also highlight your future plans for your academics.

Second Paragraph:   The second paragraph details your work experience and extracurricular activities that may be relevant to the scholarship.

Third Paragraph:   In the third paragraph, you can go a little further to explain how the scholarship will help you achieve your academic goals and why you deserve the scholarship.

Conclusion:  The conclusion should be a strong statement summarising why you are a good fit for the scholarship. It should highlight key points you have made in the previous paragraphs and should fit into 2 or 3 sentences.

Lastly, thank the scholarship committee for their time and consideration in one sentence.

Closing:   Always end your Scholarship Application Letter with a simple closing remark, like "Yours Sincerely" or "Kind Regards.” 

It is important to keep your closing as professional as possible. The scholarship application letter is a formal letter so you want to avoid using any form of informal or casual remark or language.

Scholarship Application Letter Writing Format

A good scholarship application letter is required to follow a simple letter format that is easy to read and understand by the scholarship provider. 

Here, we'll share a simple format for your scholarship application letter.

Always use a professional font like Times New Roman, Calibri or Arial

Use a font size between 10 and 12 points.

Your margins should be 1 inch on all sides, this makes your work easy to read.

Use single-spacing within paragraphs and double-spacing between paragraphs.

Avoid using a casual or informal tone in your Scholarship Application Letter.Also avoid the use of slangs or cliche words.

The scholarship application letter should have a formal tone.

Always include your name and contact information at the top of the scholarship application letter and introduce yourself in the first paragraph 

Ensure you address the letter to the appropriate person or committee. Of you do not know who to address it to, use a generic term like ‘ Dear Sir/Ma’ or ‘Dear Scholarship Committee’ 

Scholarship Letter Template 

Here are 12 scholarship letter template for you.

Application for Fellowship Sample Letter 

Fellowship Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Government Scholarship 

Government Scholarship Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Grant Scholarship 

Grant Scholarship Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Masters Scholarship 

Masters scholarship sample letter for download, application letter for nursing scholarship , nursing scholarship sample letter for download, application letter for phd scholarship .

PhD Scholarship Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Undergraduate Scholarship 

Undergraduate Scholarship Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Scholarship Grant 

Scholarship Grant Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Scholarship to Mayor

Scholarship to Mayor Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Scholarship in University 

Scholarship in University Sample Letter for download

Application Letter for Scholarship for Poor Students

Scholarship for Poor Students Sample Letter for download

Application for Scholarship to Principal

Scholarship to Principal Sample Letter for download

Application for Merit Scholarship Sample

Merit Scholarship Sample Letter for download

Do’s and Don'ts your Scholarship Application Letter

Here are some do's and don'ts to guide you as you draft your scholarship application letter.

Do not use the same application letter for every scholarship application 

Do not paraphrase your CV

Do not quote others in your letter

Do not write about your flaws or deficiencies

Do not use slangs or informal language 

Do not wait until last minute to submit your application letter 

Do keep a positive tone

Do be concise 

Do be honest

Do avoid typos or grammatical blunders 

Do proofread

Do proper research before drafting your letter

Do highlight your accomplishments 

With these scholarship application letter templates, you stand a chance at getting that scholarship you've always wanted. Download a template today and edit it the way you like.

Latest Scholarship Tips

  • IT Schools In Lagos
  • 20 Best Courses to Study in Nigeria 2024
  • Federal Government student loan qualification, application and repayment
  • How to Print JAMB Examination Slip 2024
  • List Of NYSC Orientation Camps In Nigeria
  • List Of Bauchi State Scholarship Accredited Centers And Their Locations 2024
  • Canada Work Permit Visa Fees in Nigeria 2024
  • Moniepoint Account Opening – How to Open Moniepoint Account
  • How much is Canada Visa Fee in Nigeria 2024
  • Universities offering law in Nigeria

Top Scholarships

  • Imole Noble Educational Foundation (INEF) 2024 Scholarship Award for Nigerian Students
  • Stanbic IBTC Bank 2024 University Scholarship for Nigerian Undergraduates
  • 2024-2025 NNPC/NAOC/OANDO Joint Venture Tertiary Scholarship Scheme For Nigerian Undergraduate Students
  • Nifemi Brown Foundation (NBF) 2024 Undergraduate Scholarship Program
  • 2024 NNPCL/Chevron Nigeria Limited JV Scholarship Awards For Undergraduate Students
  • 2024 NNPC/SNEPCo National Merit Based University Scholarship Award For Nigerian Undergraduate Students
  • 2024 Kevron Group Undergraduate Scholarship Scheme for Nigerian Students
  • 2024 Dreamers College Fund Scholarship For Undergraduate Students
  • 2024 Edo Club of New Jersey Scholarship For Undergraduate Students
  • Pan African University 2024 Financial Aid for Undergraduate Program

Scholarship Tips

  • Scholarships by Category
  • Postgraduate
  • Undergraduate
  • College School
  • Research Grant
  • Entrepreneurs
  • Graduate Programme
  • Scholarships by Country
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland

Special Fundings

  • Women Scholarships
  • Study Abroad
  • Partially Funded
  • Fully Funded
  • Innovation Network
  • Innovation Exchange
  • Innovation Awards
  • Innovation Fellowships
  • Innovation Funding
  • Innovation Challenge
  • Innovation Programme
  • Government grants
  • Scholarships by School
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Ghana
  • University of Cambridge
  • Oxford University
  • Harvard University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of London
  • University of Oxford
  • Swansea University
  • Scholarships by Sponsor
  • Mastercard Foundation
  • German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
  • United Nations
  • MTN Foundation
  • African Union
  • One Young World
  • Access Bank PLC
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use

Scholarship Categories

  • Undergraduate Scholarships
  • Masters Scholarships
  • Postgraduate Scholarships
  • PhD Scholarships
  • Study Abrod Scholarships
  • NGO Scholarships
  • JAMB CBT Centers

Scholarships By

  • Scholarships by Course
  • Scholarships by State
  • Scholarships Gender

Other Locations

  • Study Abroad Scholarships
  • Scholarships for African Students
  • Scholarships in UK
  • Scholarships in Canada
  • Study Abroad Community
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to secondary menu
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer

A Plus Topper

Improve your Grades

7 Application Letter Samples | Format, Examples and How To Write?

February 9, 2024 by Prasanna

Application Letter Samples: An application letter is an important document. You need to be careful and formal while writing an application letter. It is an introduction letter that will give an appropriate picture of you.

When you start writing the application letter, you need to keep the first paragraph short and precise. Additionally, you should explain the reason for your application. For example, you are writing an application for a job.

You should mention your educational qualifications and job experience in your application letter. The application letter for a job position should be formal and respectful. Additionally, it would be best if you convinced your reader that you are the best candidate.

At the end of the letter, you need to add how you need to convey that you are looking forward to hearing back.

Get Other Types of  Letter Writing  like Formal, Informal and Different Types of Letter Writing Samples.

Format of Writing an Application Letter

You need to know how to write a letter of application to not make any mistakes. Here are some points you need to remember while writing an application letter:

  • In an application letter, you need to be direct, precise and short.
  • The tone of an application letter is formal, polite and respectful.
  • It would be best if you introduce yourself in the first paragraph of the application letter.
  • In the last section of the application letter, you should add that you are looking forward to hearing from the person.
  • It would be best if you wrote why you want to work at a particular organisation or company.
  • You should give your correct contact details for the other person to reach out to you.

Sample Application Letters

Sample Application letters are listed below for the convenience of the readers.

Sample Job Application Letter

Ms. Hannah Micheal DSC Company 68 Delaware Road Bloomsbury, CA 09045 (090) 656-87878

Dear Ms. Micheal,

I am writing this letter to apply for a junior programmer position advertised in your organisation. As requested, I am enclosing a completed job application, my certificates, my resumes, and four references in this letter.

The opportunity presented in this listing is exciting. I believe that my firm and years of technical experiences and education will make me a competent person for the position. The main strengths that I have, which I will contribute to this position include:

  • I have designed, developed and supported many different live use applications.
  • I continuously work towards achieving my goals through hard work and excellence.
  • I provide exceptional contributions to the needs and wants of the consumers.
  • I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Programming. Additionally, I have in-depth knowledge of the complete cycle of a soft development project. Whenever the need arises, I learn new technologies.
  • I can be reached on 878-878-7878.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sample Job Application Letter

Job Application Letter

Date (Name) (Position) (institution) (Address) (City, State, Zip Code)

Dear (Name),

In the next few months, I will be finishing my Masters of Arts degree in School Counselling from Saint Paul College. Currently, I am looking for various internships opportunities. I was hoping I could do a 650-hour internship with (name of the institution). Please consider this my application for this internship opportunity.

Additionally, I have ( other educational qualifications and the institutes where you studied). (you need to add your characteristics according to the relevance of the internship). I am currently a part of many associations in my university. I want to receive this opportunity of working at your institute, so I help students.

I have enclosed my resume along with this application letter. If you require any additional information, you can reach me at (your phone number).

Sincerely, (Your Name)

Job Application Letter

Sample Application Letter

56 Holmes Street

Coorparoo 3243

September 14 2018

The State Manager

Brace- Copper Plastics

GPO Box 556

Brisbane QLD 6607

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I am applying for the position of assistant advertised on the courier of August 17 2018. I have had broad experience in the field of work over many years.

I have worked at PinkSteels Products (2010 to 2014), including 16 months of helping the chief storeman with over 500 engineering parts’ control. The included duty at the store fund as a sales clerk, handling enquiries and managing.

In my last position with the Coorparoo Council, I was employed as an assistant to the manager. Additionally, I handled the paperwork, storage and helped in stocktakes.

I believe my clerical accuracy, public contact experience and knowledge will help me secure the position.

I am attaching my resume in this application letter, and you can contact me at 897 67678.

Yours faithfully,

Jade Judith

Sample Application Letter

Sample Application Letter for General Work

Your address

Your telephone number

Reference: Position of job application

Employer’s name

Employer’s address

I am writing as to whether you have any vacancies within your company. I recently completed my education and am keen to find work related to my field of education. I want to work in the _______ department of your company.

I am interested in this department because it is the area of my learning and experience. I hope to contribute to the department and the company—[you need to add from why you will be the perfect candidate for the position].

As a part of the letter, you will find my resume, which details my education, skills and experience. I am available for an interview after school or at weekends.

Your Signature

Sample Application Letter for General Work

1380 Magnolia Circle

Mount Olive, NC 298983

April 3, 2019

Ms. Judy Potter

College Recruiter

Enterprise- Rent- a- Car

P.O Box 1989

Wilmington, NC 29021

Dear Ms. Potter

I am writing to express my interest in the Retail Management Trainee listed in the MOC Job Network. I have reviewed Enterprise Rent-a-Car’s web page. Your company’s commitment to excellent customer service and have a great development training program. I am graduating from Mount Lily College in May and am actively seeking a retail management position.

As a part of this application letter, you will find the resume with my practical experience in retail sales and customer service. My work has given me experience inability to work with a wide range of clientele. I have additionally completed several courses in management while pursuing my bachelors in business administration.

I want to work and learn from the Retail Management Trainee Position. I would love to meet you and work with Rent-a-Car. If you need additional information, please call me at (919) 465-2343.

Anna Jensen

Sample Application Letter

540 Saint Paul

November 18, 2019

Beryl Henry

Saint Francis Academy

This is an application for a teaching position in your school. I am happy and interested to impart and spread my knowledge that I have gained to enhance students’ capability and understanding.

I am a graduate of Bachelor in Secondary Education – Major in History at Louise College. I am a let passer in a recently concluded examination.

I have completed Campus Training and various tutorial programs. I attended home ability in organising students and at handling classroom management.

I am confident enough to contribute to my best ability to the school’s visions of producing excellent quality students and graduates.

I have attached a resume for reference, which has my application letter. I hope you find my qualifications adequate; I am willing to call for an interview at your most convenient time.

Sincerely yours,

(Your name)

Sample Application Letters

Hannah George

6734, Downtown Street

Gaithersburg, MD

(332)- 433, 6580.

Date: May 16 2019

Mr Solomon Robin

Griffith Nursing Home,

547, Parade Plaza

Mount Celebres, CA 76827

Dear Mr Solomon Robin

I am writing to introduce myself to you as a student at the National School of Nursing (NSN). I’m responding to your advertisement in the Employment News for a certified nursing assistant PCA for your emergency wards.

In the application letter, you will have my resume, which had my educational and working experience. I recently did an internship at Soldier Hospital, New York, which allowed me to strengthen my communication skills further.

I would appreciate it if I could appreciate the opportunity to discuss my education and experience. Thank you.

Senior Student, Nursing

ISC, Manhattan

Sample Job Application Letter

  • Picture Dictionary
  • English Speech
  • English Slogans
  • English Letter Writing
  • English Essay Writing
  • English Textbook Answers
  • Types of Certificates
  • ICSE Solutions
  • Selina ICSE Solutions
  • ML Aggarwal Solutions
  • HSSLive Plus One
  • HSSLive Plus Two
  • Kerala SSLC
  • Distance Education

Examples

Simple Application Letter

Letter maker.

simple application letter for school

Nowadays, there are already a lot of highly-skilled and qualified individuals that may take the work position away from you in a blink of an eye. You can get higher chances of being considered for the next levels of recruitment or even for actual employment if you will ensure that all the documents and other requirements asked by the employer are already prepared even before the actual date of your application. One of the things that you need to write is an application letter. If you have no idea on how you can come up with a simple yet impressive job application letter , browse through the downloadable examples that we have collected for you.

Simple Application Letter Template

Simple Application Letter Template

  • Google Docs
  • Apple Pages

Free Download

Application Letter Sample

Application Letter Sample

Application Letter Format

Application Letter Format

Professional Application Letter Template

Professional Application Letter Template

Simple Application Letter for Teacher Job Template

Simple Application Letter for Teacher Job Template

Size: 48 KB

Simple Job Application Letter for Employment Template

Simple Job Application Letter for Employment Template

Size: 47 KB

Application Letter for a Teaching Job Template

Application Letter for a Teaching Job Template

Size: 42 KB

Application letter for a Company Job Template

Application letter for a Company Job Template

Size: 28 KB

Application Letter for a Primary School Teaching Job Template

Application Letter for a Primary School Teaching Job Template

Application Letter for Scholarship Request Template

Application Letter for Scholarship Request Template

Application Letter for Scholarship Financial Assistance Template

Application Letter for Scholarship Financial Assistance Template

Application Letter for Teacher Template

Application Letter for Teacher Template

Size: 52 KB

Application Letter Template For Student

Application Letter Template For Student

Size: 53 KB

Application Letter Template Sample For Any Position

Application Letter Template Sample For Any Position

Size: 36 KB

Application Letter Template For Any Position

Application Letter Template For Any Position

Size: 37 KB

Simple Application Gantt Chart Template

Simple Application Gantt Chart Template

Size: 33 KB

Simple Application Roadmap Template

Simple Application Roadmap Template

  • Google Slides
  • Google Sheets
  • Apple Keynote

Size: 56 KB

Application Letter For Any Position Template

Application Letter For Any Position Template

Size: 38 KB

Job Application Letter for Undergraduate Student Template

Job Application Letter for Undergraduate Student Template

Writing an Application Letter Example

Writing an Application Letter Example

Solicited Application Letter Example

Solicited Application Letter Example

Size: 203 KB

Covering Letter of Application Example

Covering Letter of Application Example

Size: 49 KB

New Application Letter Example

New Application Letter Example

Size: 107 KB

Cover Letter for Work Application Example

Cover Letter for Work Application Example

Size: 160 KB

Writing Suggestions That Can Help You Get the Attention of Employers

Job application letters in PDF or in any other software should be created in a business-appropriate and formal manner. As one of the application requirements that are thoroughly reviewed by employers, you should make sure that you can create an outstanding application letter. Listed below are a few writing suggestions that will allow you to positively get the attention and approval of employers.

1. Ensure that the first paragraph of your application letter is already impressive and engaging. Be straight to the point when discussing your desire to apply for a particular work post. A specific discussion of the purpose of the application letter is important to be a part of your opening paragraph. Also, the first paragraph may contain the details on where you found the hiring opportunity. You may also see email cover letter examples .

2. Start gathering proofs and evidences that you can discuss on your second paragraph. Supporting details that can further make you desirable as a candidate can help you a lot when it comes to taking a step ahead from your competitors.

3. If there is a need for a third paragraph, come up with a summarized discussion of your deliverable. You can present your strengths that are usable for the job position that you are applying for. These items include your technical skills, communication skills, talents, abilities, and strengths. Within this discussion, make sure that you will not repeat the information that you have already included in your professional resume .

4. Discuss how the application can be mutually beneficial. Do not just state what you can get from the business like potential professional growth and additional work experiences. You also have to identify the ways on how the business can utilize and maximize your deliverable for their advantage. You may also like business proposal letter examples .

5. Finish the body of your application letter with a memorable conclusion. Your ending should be as strong as your introduction. Conclude the entirety of the document and convince the employer that you truly are the best option for the work post that they have opened for employment. Do not cross the line when persuading employers as it can already be translated as bragging, over confidence and/or having too much self assurance. Remember that the specified items can negatively affect the overall tone of the letter. You may also check out offer letter examples .

Resumes, Application and Cover Letter Example

Resumes, Application and Cover Letter Example

Size: 400 KB

Resume with Cover Letter Example

Resume with Cover Letter Example

Size: 981 KB

How Can an Application Letter Affect Your Work Application

Aside from employment, application letters can also be used in different purposes. You can use this letter if you want to be a member of a club or an organization. You can also be tasked to create an application letter if you want to be considered for a scholarship grant. There are different examples of writing a simple application letter  depending on the purpose that the document will serve.

In the professional and corporate industry, application letters play a vital role in the processes of work application as it allows the candidate or an applicant to provide more information about him or her. These added information can also improve the chances of getting hired. Here’s how having a well-formatted, precise and properly planned application letter impact your work application:

1. An application letter can further explain the details that you have included in your professional profile. Even if it is not suggested to write the same details that you have already presented in your resume, explaining why these details are essential to be considered by employers can also be of help. Rather than copying your resume content, you can illustrate instances and activities where your skills and other deliverable served as an additional value to your previous employers or to the community. You may also see formal letter writing examples in pdf .

2. An application letter can make it easier for you to provide more information in a less structured manner. Other application requirements like application forms and resumes are very strict when it comes to format. If you will only submit these documents, then it is most likely that other candidates can present the same level of qualifications and potential. Application letters make you more different as you can freely write items which you think can give you an advantage from other applicants. You may also like reference letter examples .

3. An application letter can allow you to present positive aspects of your professional life while answering potential questions about your weaknesses. As an example, the reasons for short employment duration from your previous employers can be discussed in a formal manner with the help of your application letter. You may also check out notice letter examples .

4. An application letter can help you support the content of all your application documents and forms. The consistency of the information that you will disclose to the employer is of utmost important. Any irregularities can actually lessen your credibility which can open doors to new applicants to be considered for hiring. You might be interested in complaint letter examples & samples .

Very Basic Cover Letter Example

Very Basic Cover Letter Example

Size: 23 KB

Simple Cover Letter/Application Letter Example

Simple Cover Letter/Application Letter Example

Size: 16 KB

Employment Application/Cover Letter Example

Employment Application/Cover Letter Example

Size: 333 KB

Tips in Making an Application Letter

Even if you can easily create an application letter all by yourself, you still have to be aware of a few guidelines that can make the application letter more relevant and effective. Some of the tips that you can incorporate in the processes that you will implement when writing an application letter are as follows:

1. Make it a conscious effort to have a short but meaningful discussion. Be professional when selecting the language and tone of the application letter as this will help you to reflect a refined professional character. You may also see appointment letter examples & samples .

2. Allow your application letter to be fully-packed as possible. However, there should still be organization with all the details of your discussion. Try to break down the information that you will write so that all the sentences that you will come up with can be interesting, relevant and necessary. You may also like two weeks notice letter examples & samples .

3. Evaluate the final application letter. Review all the areas of the formal letter from your grammar, the formulation of your discussion, the details that you have put together, and the appeal of the format or layout that you have selected.

4. If possible, let others assess your application letter. You can present the document to your life adviser or to any people that you trust. From there, you can take constructive criticisms, comments and suggestions that can help you improve the application letter. You may also check out acknowledgement letter examples & samples .

  • Always depend the content of the application letter to the job position that you want to be hired for. Irrelevant information can negate the purpose of having an application letter.
  • Browse through application letter examples in PDF, DOC  or Excel. Having these as guides can help you create an application letter that can be highly-beneficial for your application.

Job Application/Cover Letter Template Example

Job Application/Cover Letter Template Example

Size: 177 KB

Cover Letter Template Example

Cover Letter Template Example

Size: 140 KB

Create Your Application Letter Now

Look into your purpose and objective within the entire processes of developing an application letter. Always stick to the fact that an application letter is created for reasons that are related to the improvement of your application. At the end of the day, your application letter should be able to do the following:

  • Properly introduce you and your potential to your employer
  • Answer the question on why the employer should hire you
  • Give the exact details that is necessary to be known within the initial phases of the application

Having an end goal in mind, which is to be hired, can give you the drive to develop a great application letter. Even if this document will not assure that you will be employed in your target company, creating an application letter in the best possible way that you know how can make you more prepared and more confident for your application. You may also see reference letter examples .

Make an application letter now and see how our examples and tips can be helpful in your undertaking. May it be an email cover letter or any other kinds of application letters for specific work positions, having the basic knowledge and references about application letter writing can already give you the lead advantage.

Twitter

Text prompt

  • Instructive
  • Professional

Write a letter to parents informing them about the upcoming parent-teacher conference at school

Compose a letter to students congratulating them on their achievements in the recent science fair.

Create designs that inspire

Trending searches, productivity, social media, generate stunning ai-powered visuals.

A girl rides a skateboard while walking her dog. The girl is wearing a purple sweatshirt, baggy jeans and boots. She has expressive, round brown eyes and a look of determination. The background is an out of focus park and the girl is in a 3d illustrated animation style.

A girl rides a skateboard while walking her dog. The girl is wearing a purple sweatshirt, baggy jeans and boots. She has expressive, round brown eyes and a look of determination. The background is an out of focus park and the girl is in a 3d illustrated animation style.

A watercolor hummingbird, centered, in red and yellow with a soft cream, watercolor background.

A watercolor hummingbird, centered, in red and yellow with a soft cream, watercolor background.

A banana with sunglasses surfing a blue wave.

A banana with sunglasses surfing a blue wave.

Front-facing view of a mountain with floral decorative elements, papercraft quilling style, in pastel pink, blue and purple colors.

Front-facing view of a mountain with floral decorative elements, papercraft quilling style, in pastel pink, blue and purple colors.

An abstract background of melting liquid with a metallic sheen, dark purple and gold colors with reflective studio light.

An abstract background of melting liquid with a metallic sheen, dark purple and gold colors with reflective studio light.

Illustration of a man playing a decorated steel pan drum.

Illustration of a man playing a decorated steel pan drum.

A macro, detailed portrait of the face of a Dalmatian dog staring straight ahead with bright blue eyes on a solid pastel blue, out of focus background. The portrait is realistic with studio lighting.

A macro, detailed portrait of the face of a Dalmatian dog staring straight ahead with bright blue eyes on a solid pastel blue, out of focus background. The portrait is realistic with studio lighting.

A yellow sun with orange rays rises over white and purple clouds in a pop art style. There should be a halftone effect and screen printing aesthetic. The orange rays radiate outward and fill the background.

A yellow sun with orange rays rises over white and purple clouds in a pop art style. There should be a halftone effect and screen printing aesthetic. The orange rays radiate outward and fill the background.

A group of assorted donuts in a pink bakery box.

A group of assorted donuts in a pink bakery box.

A portrait of a man in a digital collage style. The man is wearing thick red glasses with circular patterns in blue and orange on the inside of the frames. The man is in a red polka dot shirt with a background of thick, brightly colored lines in pink, blue, and red. Collaged into the background is a ferris wheel and a circus tent.

A portrait of a man in a digital collage style. The man is wearing thick red glasses with circular patterns in blue and orange on the inside of the frames. The man is in a red polka dot shirt with a background of thick, brightly colored lines in pink, blue, and red. Collaged into the background is a ferris wheel and a circus tent.

A profile view of a caterpillar crawling on a moss-covered rock with the lush, green forest in the background, macro view, detail, close-up.

A profile view of a caterpillar crawling on a moss-covered rock with the lush, green forest in the background, macro view, detail, close-up.

Cartoon style woman with a blue hat, fishing on a river near a forest.

Cartoon style woman with a blue hat, fishing on a river near a forest.

A colorful street scene in the style of Mexican mural art. The street has adobe-colored shops on both sides with striped awnings. There is a fountain in the center and trees and mountains in the distance.

A colorful street scene in the style of Mexican mural art. The street has adobe-colored shops on both sides with striped awnings. There is a fountain in the center and trees and mountains in the distance.

A single pink ranunculus in the style of a vintage botanical drawing.

A single pink ranunculus in the style of a vintage botanical drawing.

A unicorn stands on a wooden pier looking out over clouds below, with a starry night sky above.

A unicorn stands on a wooden pier looking out over clouds below, with a starry night sky above.

Create and edit in an instant with Microsoft Designer

A castle made of gumdrops and lollipops on a pink background, 3D hyper-surrealism, shiny, metallic, pastel colors

Image generator

Generate any image you can imagine with just a text description.

Side by side of the same image of a young person doing a skateboard trick, with the background removed from the image on the right

Background remover

Remove the background from your image in one click.

5 examples of stickers: "Wow!" in red and yellow comic book style, an illustration of an airplane that says "Travel" in gray and brown, a blue and brown suitcase, a pink and blue camera, and the Eiffel tower in a circle in pastels and grays

Sticker creator

Describe the sticker you want, and our AI will generate it for you.

Browse thousands of customizable templates

Fresh picks.

Hitting the beach blue modern-simple

Celebrate an occasion

Rainbow clout white modern-geometric-&-linear

Food and drink

Treat yourself to a smoothie Orange Modern, Bold, Abstract

How it works

Image of various 3D stacked browser windows with organic elements

1. Start with the perfect template

Image of 3D browser windows and design tools

2. Customize it with help from AI

See the templates for:

Image of 3D elements and stacked web pages

3. Share your creation with the world

LettersPro.com

Similar Letters

Letter of application for graduate school. sample letter, application letter for high school. sample letter, application letter for nursing school. sample letter, application letter for a nursing school. sample letter, sample letter to ask about a program at a university abroad, letter example inquiring about a program for foreign nurses, letter to ask about an international exchange program, reference letter for an applicant for college admission, letter to request application forms to a university, thank you letter for an application sent. sample letter, sample letter of intent of job application, application letter for teaching. sample letter, application sample letter for an administrative assistant, request application forms to a university - letter sample, job application letter of interest. sample letter, work visa application for research abroad sample letter, application letter for a job vacancy. sample letter, follow up letter after application. sample letter, letter of application for a nanny job in a foreign country, reference letter for a student applying for a school transfer, letter categories, application letter for school admission. sample letter.

simple application letter for school

  • Express your intentions in writing the letter / application.
  • Make sure that you mention your qualifications and other supporting facts as to why you are eligible for admission to the school.
  • End on a positive tone.

SAMPLE LETTER

[Letter Date]

[Subject: Normally bold, summarizes the intention of the letter] -Optional-

Dear [Recipients Name],

I am writing to express my desire to enroll in your prestigious school for this coming school year. I believe that I am highly qualified and deserve to go to your honorable school because (list down the various positive qualities that you have here). Also, you will find that I have excellent academic records from my previous school. Please find attached my records for your perusal. I look forward to hearing from you about this matter.

Sincerely, [Senders Name] [Senders Title] -Optional-

[Enclosures: number] - Optional - cc: [Name of copy recipient] - Optional -

Application letter for school admission. Sample letter.

Further things to consider when writing application letters to schools

Further things to consider when writing application letters to schools

Application Letters

Application letters are letters that you write to formally request for something from authority, apply for a job, or join an institution. Effective application letters will give a detailed explanation for your interest in the specific item, company, or institution. They showcase your abilities and strengths and illustrate your experience. In most cases, people write application letters to express their interest in receiving a position, attending an institution, or when applying for a visa, for instance. In all scenarios, application letters must be accompanied by the relevant documents. Application letters are the perfect tool to demonstrate something of your personality. Therefore, you should write in a professional tone setting a clear outline that allows the reader to scan the primary data quickly. Introduce yourself and briefly explain your intent and reason for the application. Address the letter with a title or name of the recipient. If your application is for a job or to join an institution, for example, you need to highlight your experience and qualification; if you are applying for a travel visa, make sure to state a clear intention for your travel. End with a positive tone and invite the recipient to contact you.

Letters to Schools

Letters to schools are letters written to institutions designed to provide learning environment and spaces to pupils and students. There are many times when you may feel the need to write to a school administration. Maybe you want to recommend a student or employee or want to apply for an academic program. Perhaps your child has a disability, and you want to make sure that he/she is receiving special education services. Whatever the issue, putting your thoughts in writing avoids confusion since it provides you and the recipient with a record of your request. It is, therefore, crucial to keep a copy of any letter you send. All letters to schools must use the standard business letter style. Start your letter with the proper address and salutation. Introduce yourself and explain the reason for your letter clearly and concisely. Depending on the content of your letter, provide any documentation that gives the recipient reference to the case or clarifies your concerns. Keep the tone polite, respectful, and professional. Close by thanking the recipient for his/her time and with a note of anticipation of positive feedback. Sign off and proofread the final draft before sending it.

These articles may interest you

These articles may interest you

  • Application
  • application letters
  • school application

IMAGES

  1. School Application Letter Template in Microsoft Word, Apple Pages

    simple application letter for school

  2. Top 10 Application for School Admission Samples

    simple application letter for school

  3. (9+ Samples) Application for School Admission

    simple application letter for school

  4. Primary School Teacher Application Letter

    simple application letter for school

  5. 963 Best Application Letter Templates & Samples

    simple application letter for school

  6. Teachers Application Letter

    simple application letter for school

VIDEO

  1. Letter School

  2. छुट्टी के लिए आवेदन कैसे लिखे ? || CL KE LIYE APPLICATION #bpscteacher

  3. Learn Letters with Letterschool

  4. write an Application to the Principal of your school to grant you three days leave

  5. How To Write An Application For Leave?

  6. Write an application for admission in school for class 11

COMMENTS

  1. Sample Application Letter for School Admission for Child

    Template for Application Letter for School Admission. Dear [Recipient's Name], I am writing to express my child, [Child's Name]'s, interest in joining [School's Name] for [Grade/Year]. [Introduction - Briefly introduce your child and mention a standout quality or achievement relevant to the school's ethos].

  2. How To Write School Applications Letter

    School application letter example Here is an example of a school application letter to further help you compose yours. Stacy Nolan 777-777-7777 [email protected] 7777 Denver Avenue 8888 Denver, Colorado 14th April 2021 Dr. Simon Morgan Sun and Shield School of Music 9999 Lights Street 8888 Denver, Colorado Dear Dr. Morgan, REF: Application for Admission to the School of Oriental Music My ...

  3. Application letter for school admission. Sample letter

    SAMPLE LETTER. [Subject: Normally bold, summarizes the intention of the letter] -Optional-. Dear [Recipients Name], I am writing to express my desire to enroll in your prestigious school for this coming school year. I believe that I am highly qualified and deserve to go to your honorable school because (list down the various positive qualities ...

  4. Sample School Application Letter

    The school application letter format should include the date, your name and contact information, the name and contact information of the person addressed in the letter, an introductory paragraph that explains your interest in the program, 1 or 2 paragraphs that highlight your skills, achievements and career goals, and a closing paragraph that ...

  5. How to Write a Letter of Intent for School: Sample & Tips

    Set regular cover letter spacing, which is double between paragraphs and 1-1.15 between lines of text. Make your school letter of intent one-page long—this is the typical cover letter length, and it's perfect for this kind of document. Align the text to the left side. It's as simple as that.

  6. How To Write A School Application Letter (With Examples)

    Foremost, address the school's principal and mention the school's name right below it. Follow these two lines with the complete address of the school. Always remember to place this section on the top left of the application letter. 2. Write a short subject line.

  7. High School Student Cover Letter (Sample & Tips)

    Jamie Hart. 929 Commerce St. Stockton, CA 95202. (209) 984-3632. [email protected]. Dear Mr. Hart, My name is Daria, and I am a graduating senior at Heritage High School. I saw your posting for the position of Business Development Intern on Indeed, and was immediately compelled to apply. My academic and career goals align with the internship ...

  8. 4 Ways to Write an Application Letter

    Use a formal closing. When you get to the end of your letter, add a space, then include a closing, like "Sincerely" and sign your name. [11] Sometimes, it's appropriate to type your name, then print out the letter and sign it in pen. That can be a nice touch. 5. Put your contact information in the header.

  9. How To Write an Application Letter (With Template and Example)

    Follow these steps to compose a compelling application letter: 1. Research the company and job opening. Thoroughly research the company you're applying to and the specifications of the open position. The more you know about the job, the better you can customize your application letter. Look for details like:

  10. How to Write a Letter of Application (Example & Tips)

    No hard numbers. "I worked in a team and provided customer service to elderly residents". 5. Choose engaging words for your application letter. Your letter of application's length should be 250 to 400 words or 3 to 4 paragraphs — long enough to get your point across but short enough that the reader won't lose interest.

  11. High School Cover Letter: Samples, Proper Format, & Guide

    Here's how to ace your high school cover letter for that part-time gig: 1. Choose the right high school cover letter format. Make all margins set to one-inch. Go with single or 1.15 line spacing. Stay professional with an elegant font in 11pt to 12pt size. Read more: The Only Proper Cover Letter Format.

  12. application letter sample for senior high school student

    Greeting: Dear Scholarship Committee, Letter Body: I am writing to apply for the scholarship offered by ABC Organization. As a senior high school student with a passion for science, I am excited about the opportunity to continue my education at the college level. Unfortunately, my family is unable to afford the cost of tuition, which is why I ...

  13. Simple Application Letter

    1. Sample Job Application Letter. January 24, 2019. Dear Ms. Croft, Salutations. My name is Jack Sparrow. I am interested in applying for the position of a fortune hunter for Croft Industries. As requested, I am enclosing a completed job application, my certification, my resume, and three references.

  14. High School Student Cover Letter Samples & Examples 2024

    Additionally, you should address your cover letter to the person who is most likely to read and review it, such as a company's owner or a head manager. Here are 3 examples of personalized cover letter greetings. Dear Mr. John Doe, Dear Hiring Manager John Doe, Dear Mr. John Doe & the Hiring Department, 3.

  15. 12 Scholarship Application Letter Samples (PDF, DOC)

    Keep your letter short, a good scholarship letter typically ranging from 300 to 500 words. Ensure you give a clear reason for applying for the scholarship. Always introduce yourself properly. Write about your relevant academic achievements, work experience, extracurricular activities, and any skills you may have.

  16. High School Student Cover Letter

    Tips for High School Student Cover Letter. A. Focus on Skills: As a high school student, you might not have an extensive work history. However, you can focus on skills gained from your studies, extracurricular activities, and even personal hobbies. B. Tailor Each Letter: Employers appreciate a tailored application.

  17. PDF Sample Application Letter for School Admission for Child

    Subject: Application for Admission of My Child, [Child's Name] I hope this letter finds you in good health and high spirits. I am writing to formally request the admission of my child, [Child's Name], into [Grade/Class] at [School Name] for the upcoming academic year [Year]. After thorough research and consideration, I am highly impressed ...

  18. Letter of Application: Job Example, Format & How-To Guide

    Format of an Application Letter. Create enough spacing: 1-1.15 between lines, 1-inch margins, double space between paragraphs. Choose the font: Garamond, Helvetica, or Arial in 11-12 points in a font size. Align the content to the left. Pick the file format: PDF, unless the recruiter requested a Word file specifically.

  19. 7 Application Letter Samples

    DSC Company. 68 Delaware Road. Bloomsbury, CA 09045. (090) 656-87878. Date. Dear Ms. Micheal, I am writing this letter to apply for a junior programmer position advertised in your organisation. As requested, I am enclosing a completed job application, my certificates, my resumes, and four references in this letter.

  20. Simple Application Letter

    1. Ensure that the first paragraph of your application letter is already impressive and engaging. Be straight to the point when discussing your desire to apply for a particular work post. A specific discussion of the purpose of the application letter is important to be a part of your opening paragraph.

  21. Application letter for high school. Sample letter

    Dear [Recipients Name], I am writing to you to inform you of my desire to enter your prestigious school for my high school education. You will find enclosed the necessary documents to support my application. Also, you will find that I am very much qualified to enter your school due to my various merits such as: (insert values here) I look ...

  22. Student Assistant Cover Letter Example

    Here is the Reliable Student Assistant Cover Letter Example: Dear Ms. Mendez, I am applying with John Dickinson School for the position of Student Assistant. The attached resume has a complete look at my skills and education and I am sure that I am perfect for position. I am seeking a career in administration and having the opportunity to fill ...

  23. Free templates for social media, documents & designs

    See the templates for: 3. Share your creation with the world. When you're done, share directly with your followers or audience in just a few clicks, or save to your device and share later. And it's easy to resize social media designs for any platform, so you can reach your audience wherever they are. Use our free tools and customizable ...

  24. Application letter for school admission. Sample letter

    SAMPLE LETTER. [Subject: Normally bold, summarizes the intention of the letter] -Optional-. Dear [Recipients Name], I am writing to express my desire to enroll in your prestigious school for this coming school year. I believe that I am highly qualified and deserve to go to your honorable school because (list down the various positive qualities ...

  25. 550+ Free Resume Templates for 2024

    Our huge range of free resume templates can help. Simply choose your favorite, download directly to Word or open in Google Docs, and fill it out. We also provide a copy-paste template, and show you how to fill out your own resume template with an instructional video. Build My Resume. Resume Cover Letter.

  26. Solve Adobe account sign-in issues

    Select the Account icon in the upper right corner, and then select Adobe Account. Select Account and security > Account . Select the Account option from the drop-down option. Select the Account option from the drop-down option. In the Account information and access section, select Change next to Primary email (Adobe ID).