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Tepper’s stem-designated mba program delivers the analytical and leadership skills you’ll need to lead where human intelligence unleashes the power of data, and interdisciplinary teamwork drives innovation..
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Courses and certificates.
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Master of Business Administration
You're ready to become a leader and rise to the next level in business. A master's degree in business administration is the step you need to take you further in your professional career and potentially earn a higher salary. A reputable online MBA degree program can be the difference-maker for your future by helping you understand business practices and management skills. This master's in business administration is focused on equipping you with skills and credentials that helps distinguish your value in the business world.
Compare this degree: Also considering the MSML degree program? This article can help you understand the differences .
Graduates can finish within
WGU lets you set a schedule so you can finish your MBA in just one year. You are in control of the schedule and timing for your online MBA program.
*WGU Internal Data
Tuition per six-month term is
See what your online MBA will cost at our university. Tuition charged per term—rather than per credit—helps students control the ultimate cost of their degrees. Finish faster, pay less!
Average salary increase
Master of Business Administration graduates report an average salary increase of $14,025 after completing their WGU degree.
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Start Dates the 1st of Every Month
Program consists of 11 courses
At WGU, we design our curriculum to be timely, relevant, and practical—all to help you show that you know your stuff.
This program is composed of the following business and management courses. You will typically complete them one at a time as you make your way through your program, working with your Program Mentor each term to build your personalized degree plan. You’ll work through each course as quickly as you can study and master the material. As soon as you’re ready, you’ll pass the assessment, complete the course, and move on. This means you can finish as many courses as you're able in a term at no additional cost. One year MBA students can complete all of their coursework in just two WGU terms. You will set a schedule with your Program Mentor to enable you to finish your program quickly. Learn more about the one year MBA program at WGU.
To ensure WGU graduates acquire the knowledge and skills sought by today’s employers, our Master of Business Administration—like all of WGU's School of Business programs—was developed with significant input from experts and business leaders who serve on our Business Program Council.
This course covers principles of effective management and leadership that maximize organizational performance. The following topics are included: the role and functions of a manager, analysis of personal leadership styles, approaches to self-awareness and self-assessment, and application of foundational leadership and management skills.
This course focuses on strategies and tools that managers use to maximize employee contribution and create organizational excellence. You will learn talent management strategies to motivate and develop employees as well as best practices to manage performance for added value.
This course prepares students for the communication challenges in organizations. Topics examined include theories and strategies of communication, persuasion, conflict management, and ethics that enhance communication to various audiences.
This course focuses on the strategic importance of operations management to overall performance. This course also emphasizes principles of supply chain management relevant to a variety of business operations ranging from manufacturing goods to retail services. You will examine the various planning, control, and decision-making tools and techniques of the operations function.
This course examines how economic tools, techniques, and indicators can be used for solving organizational problems related to competitiveness, productivity, and growth. You will explore the management implications of a variety of economic concepts and effective strategies to make decisions within a global context.
Marketing Fundamentals introduces students to principles of the marketing environment, social media, consumer behavior, marketing research, and market segmentation. Students will also explore marketing strategies that are related to products and services, distribution channels, promotions, sales, and pricing.
This course provides you with the accounting knowledge and skills to assess and manage a business. Topics include the accounting cycle, financial statements, taxes, and budgeting. This course will improve students’ ability to understand reports and use accounting information to plan and make sound business decisions.
This course examines the ethical issues and dilemmas managers face. This course provides a framework for analysis of management-related ethical issues and decision-making action required for satisfactory resolution of these issues.
This course covers practical approaches to analysis and decision-making in the administration of corporate funds, including capital budgeting, working capital management, and cost of capital. Topics include financial planning, management of working capital, analysis of investment opportunities, sources of long-term financing, government regulations, and global influences. This course will improve students’ ability to interpret financial statements and manage corporate finances.
This course presents critical problem-solving methodologies, including field research and data collection methods that enhance organizational performance. Topics include quantitative analysis, statistical and quality tools. You will improve your ability to use data to make informed decisions.
MBA Capstone is the culminating course in the MBA program that provides an integrative experience with all competencies and assessment topics throughout the program. Students synthesize concepts from previously completed coursework and demonstrate an understanding of responsible practices for growing and running a business. This course promotes a meaningful connection between the academic work and career experience.
Program consists of 11 courses
Capstone Project
Special requirements for this program
At the end of your program, you will complete a capstone project that represents the culmination of all your hard work—a project that allows you to take what you’ve learned and apply it to a real-world situation, proposing a solution to an actual issue you face in your place of business.
Skills For Your Résumé
As part of this program, you will develop a range of valuable skills that employers are looking for.
“Because of WGU's competency-based program, I didn't have to get into things that I already knew. Instead I was able to use that for the things that were more challenging for me to learn.”
—Alvyn Joy Halili MBA
Traditional Universities
TUITION STRUCTURE
Per credit hour
Flat rate per 6-month term
Schedule and wait days or even weeks to meet with one of many counselors
Simply email or call to connect with your designated Program Mentor who supports you from day one
Scheduled time
Whenever you feel ready
Professor led lectures at a certain time and place
Courses available anytime, from anywhere
TIME TO FINISH
Approximately 2 years, minimal acceleration options
As quickly as you can master the material, can finish programs in 1 year
Earning Potential
After graduation, WGU MBA master's degree graduates report earning $16,200 more per year*. Are you ready to make more money?
Entirely Online
Competency-based education means you can move as quickly through your degree as you can master the material. You don't have to log in to classes at a certain time—you are truly in the driver's seat of your education.
The Master of Business Administration degree at WGU is 100% online, which means it works wherever you are. You can do your coursework at night after working at your full-time job, on weekends, while you're traveling the world or on vacation—it's entirely up to you.
Accredited, Respected, Recognized™
One important measure of a degree’s value is the reputation of the university where it was earned. When employers, industry leaders, and academic experts hold your alma mater in high esteem, you reap the benefits of that respect. WGU is a pioneer in reinventing higher education for the 21st century, and our quality has been recognized.
COST & TIME
By charging per term rather than per credit—and empowering students to accelerate through material they know well or learn quickly—WGU helps students control the ultimate cost of their degrees. The faster you complete your program, the less you pay for your degree.
There is help available to make paying for school possible for you:
The average student loan debt of WGU graduates in 2022 (among those who borrowed) was less than half* the national average.
Most WGU students qualify for financial aid, and WGU is approved for federal financial aid and U.S. veterans benefits.
Many scholarship opportunities are available. Find out what you might be eligible for.
Flexible schedule, you control where, when, and how fast you learn and graduate.
Schedules are tight and often unpredictable for busy professionals. That’s why we offer a flexible, personalized approach to how education should be. No interruptions to your work and family obligations. No rigid class schedules. No barriers to earning your degree on your own terms. Just a solid, career-focused online MBA program that meshes seamlessly with your current lifestyle.
"I was fortunate enough to finish my WGU degree program in six months because I was able to show what I knew and not have to sit in needless classes. I was able to showcase my strengths and still have plenty of time to work on my weaknesses, which really helped me finish my degree. I couldn't have done this anywhere else.”
—David Burks MBA
CAREER OUTLOOK
Goldman Sachs. Google. MGM. Microsoft. Apple. These giant organizations are changing the world, and WGU MBA graduates are there in the thick of it—making decisions as key leaders in top organizations. An online MBA degree from WGU has prepared these graduates to stand out from the competition, to take charge, and to make change. And a master's in business administration degree could do the same thing for you. Get an MBA online that is focused on helping you excel as a business leader and reach all your career aspirations.
WGU’s online MBA degree is designed for business professionals who are ready to advance their career. It is a university program that focuses on management, strategy, and business skills that are vital to your success as a leader. Earn an online MBA that gives you the skills to become the impactful business leader your organization needs.
On average, wgu graduates see an increase in income post-graduation.
Average income increase from all degrees in annual salary vs. pre-enrollment salary. Source: 2023 Harris Poll Survey of 1,655 WGU graduates.
Survey was sent to a representative sample of WGU graduates from all colleges. Respondents received at least one WGU degree since 2017.
Employment of top executives is projected to grow 6% from 2021 to 2031.
—U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Problem-solving leaders are required in every industry, and strategic thinking is necessary at every successful company. If you're ready to broaden your business knowledge and advance your career, WGU's MBA program online can prepare you to be an effective leader and produce successful results wherever you go. Your business management career starts here! Our 5,300-plus MBA grads have great jobs and satisfying careers.
ADMISSIONS & TRANSFERS
To be considered for this program, you must:
NOTE: You do not need to take the GRE or GMAT to be admitted to this program. Learn why we don't require these tests.
Get Your Enrollment Checklist
Download your step-by-step guide to enrollment.
Get Your Questions Answered
Talk to an WGU Enrollment Counselor.
FINISH FASTER
WGU's unique competency-based model allows you to move faster through your degree program. This online Master of Business Administration degree gives you the flexibility you need to earn your degree on your terms. You don't have to leave your job to pursue a master's in business administration—something you and your employer will both appreciate. No logging in, no set class times—you are in the driver's seat of your education.
WGU's one-year* MBA allows you to finish your Master in Business Administration program in only 12 months for just $9,510.
* Program can be completed in as little as 12 months. Pricing is based on 12-month completion of the program. Students that do not complete in 12 months and need longer to complete the program will need to pay for additional terms.
Frequently Asked Questions about MBA Programs
MBA stands for Master’s of Business Administration. An MBA is a graduate-level business management degree that teaches you leadership skills for the modern business world. Those with an MBA often stand out among candidates for upper management positions.
Both terms are commonly used, but the technical correct usage is Master of Business Administration, or a Master's in Business Administration.
There are many job opportunities with an MBA degree. They include:
An MBA gives you additional skills and training that can help you progress in your career. You'll learn about strategy, communication, management, and leadership that will help you move into larger roles in an organization. An MBA trains you to become a business leader in many different kinds of industries.
In an MBA program you'll have courses in accounting, finance, marketing, strategy, leadership, management, and more.
Yes! An MBA can help you boost your résumé and help you get higher pay, better job opportunities, and more. In fact, WGU MBA graduates earn an average of $16,200 more per year after graduation.
An MBA is a great option for those who want to progress into management or leadership roles in an organization. Whether you want to move to a new company or have upward mobility in your current organization, an MBA can help you be prepared to move up.
An MBA teaches you leadership skills that can help you excel as an executive in a business setting. Earning an MBA can set you apart when you’re looking to advance into a management role within a corporation. The skills you learn in an MBA program may also help you start and manage your own business.
In general, it takes around two years to earn an MBA degree. That said, through a competency-based online MBA program like the one offered at WGU, students may be able to earn their degree more quickly, sometimes in 18 months or less.
The number of years it takes to earn an MBA degree can vary depending on the university.
Yes. You can earn an MBA completely online. This unique model enables students to keep their current job while working toward their degree. Competency-based education models and on-demand classes, tests, and assignments make earning a degree online a valid option for busy working professionals or those with limited access to a brick and mortar university.
Yes. With the growing prevalence and availability of online MBA programs, curriculum and acceptance criteria have become more rigorous. As higher education has moved increasingly to online formats, more employers are respecting online MBAs and finding online MBA grads to possess the skills necessary to add value to their business.
Yes. If you earn an MBA from an accredited and reputable university, it will likely be respected by employers. Many online MBA programs have gained enough of a reputation that employers now seek out graduates specifically from certain online programs and universities.
The best online MBA programs in terms of ROI include:
No. An online MBA is not necessarily easy. While an online MBA may offer more flexibility and accessibility than a typical in-person program, online programs are still competitive and rigorous. Many students, however, find that an online MBA is easier in the sense that it fits more seamlessly into their busy lives, as they can access courses, take exams, and complete projects anywhere they have internet access.
For students.
Bethany Garner is a writer at BusinessBecause.com
The MBA , which stands for Master in Business Administration, is the world’s most popular business degree.
According to research by the Graduate Management Admission Council ( GMAC ), almost half of all business school applicants think about doing an MBA.
One of the main reasons to get an MBA is its broad, practical curriculum, which is designed to bring you up to speed with all the main functions of a business – like finance, accounting, marketing, strategy, human resources, and operations.
At the same time, you’ll have ample opportunities to hone your leadership abilities and crucial soft skills in a collaborative environment that fosters discussion among a diverse group of classmates.
By the time you graduate from an MBA, you can expect to have a good understanding of how different verticals of a business come together, and be able to collaborate successfully with people from several different backgrounds.
So, what do you learn in an MBA program?
Whether you choose a one-year, two-year, online, or part-time MBA, you’ll cover the same fundamental business topics.
The core curriculum of an MBA typically includes:
Alongside these core MBA modules, you’ll have the chance to choose from a selection of elective courses. Which ones you choose will depend on your individual career goals.
If you’re interested in a career in consulting, for instance, you might pick some extra strategy classes, while finance-minded students might select additional corporate finance or investment modules.
Many programs also offer MBA specializations , which enable you to dive deeper in a specific area of business. Some common specializations include entrepreneurship, sustainable business, business analytics, marketing, innovation, and finance.
You’ll experience a broad range of teaching methods during an MBA. One of the most prominent is known as the case method .
Developed at Harvard Business School, this teaching method presents students with real-world business challenges written from the perspective of a leader in the organization, and challenges them to come up with a solution to the problem at hand.
MBA students engage with each business case before class, and during the session explain their solutions.
This teaching style is highly collaborative, with the professor assigning the case and guiding the discussion with pertinent questions and insights, rather than simply delivering a lecture.
Besides the case method, you can expect to take part in several group projects, presenting your results to the rest of the class, and complete a capstone project – an individual piece of work addressing a contemporary business issue.
Most MBA programs are very practice-orientated compared with other degree types. In a typical MBA program, you’ll have the chance to take part in study trips to real companies, attend talks by local business leaders, and take part in consulting projects organized by your school.
If you want to get even more hands-on experience, you can also opt to complete an internship, or take part in extracurricular activities such as case competitions .
During these competitions, small teams of MBA students are presented with a business problem and given a limited amount of time to come up with a solution that they pitch to a panel of judges.
What are some of the most important MBA skills?
Along with practical experience and a good understanding of the business world, you’ll also develop several key MBA skills that you learn in an MBA program.
Some of the most important skills you’ll develop are:
According to GMAC’s 2021 Corporate Recruiters Survey , these skills are among the most valued by employers.
80% of employers said interpersonal skills were crucial for business school graduates, while a further 75% cited leadership as being an important attribute.
The MBA is a careers-focused degree program. For about 50% of MBA students, making a career pivot or securing a promotion is a primary motivation for enrolling.
Beyond the classroom, you’ll also get tailored career support from a team of experts with connections across industries.
Alongside their studies, most MBA students choose to engage with their school’s career service. Support offered by these services usually includes:
With this support, 90% of MBAs report satisfaction with the career development the program provides.
If you want to explore a broad range of business topics, enjoy a practical, discussion-based approach to learning, and access high quality careers services, an MBA could be the ideal program type for you.
Bethany Garner is an experienced writer at BusinessBecause.com , where she's credited with more than 200 articles covering everything from entrepreneurial stories to mental health at work.
She also oversees the BusinessBecause Applicant Question, which poses important admission questions to experts in the field, and regularly hosts webinars on various aspects of the business school experience.
Prior to joining BusinessBecause, Bethany honed her skills as a freelance writer, tackling a wide array of topics from petcare to car maintenance.
Bethany holds a Master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Glasgow, Scotland.
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Explore this course:.
Applications for 2024 entry are now open. Apply now or register your interest to hear about postgraduate study and events at the University of Sheffield.
Management School, Faculty of Social Sciences
Experiential learning is at the heart of the Sheffield MBA. Our programme is designed to provide unique learning experiences that maximise the potential of each individual as part of a close-knit community. We recognise that you are an ambitious individual with unique attributes ready to take on the challenge of reaching your full potential.
We understand that the challenges of the 21st century require globally minded individuals who can understand situations, adapt to rapidly changing environments, and then lead their organisations forward. To this end, we have designed our MBA around three core pillars of consultancy, entrepreneurship and leadership.
Our course is diverse and tailored to your journey as a student, your individual development needs and career aspirations. Our world-class academics will inspire and challenge you to apply your learning to live organisational issues.
At Sheffield, your personal, professional and career development demands our full attention. A dedicated module supporting this is integrated throughout your MBA journey, empowering you to explore your inner capabilities and cultivate the essential skills necessary for your personal and professional growth.
With a focus on self-awareness, career planning, goal setting, and strategic identification, you will possess the tools, insights, and networks needed to pave your path to success.
The Sheffield MBA - further information on the Management School website
We use a staged admissions process to assess applications for this course. You'll still apply for this course in the usual way, using our Postgraduate Online Application Form.
This course is accredited by the Association of MBAs, EQUIS, AACSB, the Chartered Management Institute (CMI) and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA).
An open day gives you the best opportunity to hear first-hand from our current students and staff about our courses.
You may also be able to pre-book a department visit as part of a campus tour. Open days and campus tours
1 year full-time
Learn about what our alumni do after graduating
We have an international reputation for practical and real-world economics.
We are a leading business school with Triple Crown accreditation (AACSB, AMBA and EQUIS). These awards have been achieved through the outstanding quality of our programmes, research output, support for students and alumni, and links with industry. We have a world-class reputation for high quality teaching, ground-breaking research and cutting-edge thinking.
You’ll be part of a dynamic and engaging business school that puts you and your future at the heart of everything it does. We balance a rigorous academic foundation with practical skills to ensure you are ready for the world of work.
We want you to develop skills so you can apply course content in a company setting. Our close links with organisations keep us in tune with the changing demands of the workplace. We know what employers are looking for.
You'll learn from experts - many are former industry professionals and they work closely with businesses. Because our academics are world-leading researchers, your education will draw on the most current management theories.
We want you to engage with the academic content, be conscientious and take an independent approach to study. We want you to be informed, innovative and proactive and do everything we can to support and enhance your career, steering you in the right direction with all the knowledge and skills you require.
You'll benefit from tailored on-site and online professional careers support, dedicated skills sessions and events with experts from world-leading organisations and professional bodies. These activities will help guide your personal and professional development to help you secure your dream placement, internship or graduate role.
Carlo Vidal Miranda MBA Student, MBA
MBA student, Carlo, chose to pursue his ambition of studying an MBA in Sheffield.
View all of our MBA student profiles
Your application may be considered if you do not meet the academic requirement but have significant professional and/or management experience.
You will be invited to attend an interview if your application is successful at the initial review stage. If you are unable to attend the interview in person we will arrange with you for this to be online.
Find out more about the MBA application process
If you're an international student who does not meet the entry requirements for this course, you have the opportunity to apply for a pre-masters programme in Business, Social Sciences and Humanities at the University of Sheffield International College . This course is designed to develop your English language and academic skills. Upon successful completion, you can progress to degree level study at the University of Sheffield.
If you have any questions about entry requirements, please contact the department .
Scholarships.
The Sheffield MBA scholarship scheme
We're offering a limited number of scholarships worth £10,000 each for home and international students starting their MBA in 2024.
Learn more about the Sheffield MBA
+44 114 222 3491
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Created by Henry Steele
Are you planning to start a business or do you already own one ?
If the answer is yes, then you need a business plan .
This seems like an extremely daunting task, but if you understand your business, it won’t be hard at all. It’s simply a matter of organizing the information in a clear, concise manner.
The following article discusses how to write the perfect business plan, including the types of business plans most commonly used, top 10 do’s and don’ts, what goes into a business plan, the structure of your business, marketing and sales, your organizational and operational plan and much more.
To help you write the perfect business plan, we’ll provide you with an exact outline of everything you’ll need to include, so even if you think you’re too young, you’ll have no problem starting out.
The reason many business owners first decide to put together a business plan is that they simply have to. If you want to apply for a business loan, attract investors, or obtain any necessary licensing, business plans are a prerequisite.
Even if you don’t need financing or licensing, however, it’s still a good idea to have a well-thought-out business plan. If you need to hire any key employees, a strong business plan will help attract strong talent. Whenever you need to deal with professionals, such as a consultant or an accountant, your business plan gives them invaluable insight.
Finally, it’s a good idea to put a business plan together for your own sake . As you put the business plan together, you’ll have the chance to really conceptualize and evaluate your strategy. You’ll build proof that your idea makes both financial and logistic sense. Once you start working to get your business off of the ground, a strong business plan guides and helps you stay on-track.
Business plans come in all shapes and sizes, but you can generally whittle them down to three key versions.
This is an easily digestible, much shorter version of your normal business plan. Typically, it will be between three and five pages. You should include your executive summary, financials, and any information pertinent to the person/s to whom you are presenting the plan. A shortened business plan is usually made with a specific purpose or recipient in mind, so it will be easy to figure out exactly what is and isn’t important enough to make the cut.
Your standard business plan, and the one we will be teaching you to write . Again, these come in handy when seeking to fund your business, attract employees or work with professionals, or simply to act as a guide.
Unlike the other two business plans we have discussed, an operational business plan is meant for internal use only. This will not be distributed to anybody except for employees or professionals working on your company’s behalf. An operational business plan focuses on the company’s overarching goals, mission, and vision so that all department stay aligned. Your Marketing and Sales, Operational Plan, and Financial sections will be key here.
Before we dive into our business plan outline and describe each section, let’s go over some general do’s and don’ts you’ll want to keep in mind as you write your business plan:
An in-depth business plan will contain lots of useful information and will likely end up being much more than ten pages. Because it’s so long by nature, you need to make sure to only include the most useful information in each section. Format everything carefully and correctly. Don’t use language that confuses or intimidates readers outside of your industry. The easier it is for the reader to absorb everything you’re presenting them, the more effective your business plan is.
Somebody who reads your business plan shouldn’t have any major questions left unanswered. Include complete information about what you are aiming to do, how you are going to do it, how much money is needed, etc. Use our full outline below to ensure everything is covered.
Writing a business plan isn’t a task you’re completing and checking off your to-do list. Everything must be accurate, thoughtful, and well-articulated. Keep in mind: this will guide you as you operate your business and is the key to obtaining financing and/or pitching your business.
You might think your business revolves around your particular product/s or service/s, but there’s so much more to it than that. Your business plan talks about how the actual business is run, so you might want to leave the technical specifications and granular details for another time.
In the end, your business plan and your business are about you. While it’s important to maintain a professional tone, don’t be afraid to let your enthusiasm about your business seep through every page.
When writing your business plan, you will need to put in a lot of time and research. Luckily, we’re here to walk you through all of that. A winning business plan contains the below sections, and you can use our sidebar to navigate to each of these:
A cover letter is essential whenever you are presenting the business plan to somebody for a specific reason and should be tailored to each individual. Like any other letter, it should include names, dates, and a cordial greeting. In the first paragraph, explain exactly why you are presenting the business plan to the recipient. Take one or two paragraphs to discuss your business (an even more condensed executive summary, as we will cover in the next section). Finally, let the reader know you appreciate their consideration and would be happy to address any questions or concerns. Include any necessary contact information below your name and signature.
Your title page should be clean and simple. Here’s what to include in it:
A table of contents is essential to make your business plan transparent and easy to navigate. It is unlikely that a serious potential partner or investor will read through your plan once and toss it aside, so you want to make it easy for them to return and pick up where they left off or revisit any key bits of information. If you are providing a digital copy, include clickable links to each section for the reader’s benefit.
The executive summary is exactly what it sounds like – a brief summary that describes the essence of what your business is and what it aims to do. Here’s how to write a winning executive summary:
First and foremost, you’ll need to discuss the legal structure of your business:
Once the legal structure is determined, you’ll need to break down the ownership of the business. Are you the sole owner? Do you have business partners? Has anybody purchased a share of the business in exchange for funding? Provide a brief introduction to any key executives or owners, outlining what strengths they have and how they will impact the business.
Finally, include a brief history (if any) of your business, and any pertinent location details.
This is one of the most important sections of your business plan. Here, you need to impart your passion for the business and really describe what you’re trying to achieve.
Business Vision
Your vision statement is all about the company’s goals. It serves as a template for exactly what you’re trying to achieve, both short-term and long-term. Don’t hold back when it comes to your vision: if your goal is to eventually dominate the Northeastern coffee shop scene, say that. A vision statement is your chance to think big.
Where a vision statement thinks big, a mission statement is more practical. Your mission statement should discuss your company’s purpose. Why does it even exist in the first place? This mission statement will act to provide organizational direction and help you achieve your vision.
The values are all about how you plan to operate your business in relation to the stakeholders. This includes investors, customers, and members of the local community. How do you plan to treat them? What are you doing to make their lives and the world they live in better?
Here, you’ll describe exactly how large the market is. You should be able to find national figures with relatively little research. If you’re not serving a national or international market, discuss how large the population you plan to serve is. Extrapolating from the national information, how big do you expect your actual market size to be?
In addition, you should discuss any important trends. Is your market growing or retracting? If your market is growing, discuss how you project to fit into that growth and seize your market share. If your market is shrinking, discuss why you think entering the marketplace is worthwhile, and whether or not you project growth in the future.
First, you’ll want to talk about the industry in general. This includes looping back to the market size and discussing whether it is growing, stagnant, or shrinking. Are there any overarching trends or cycles that will affect your business?
This is also a good opportunity to discuss pricing. What type of money does your average customer spend in your industry? What price point are you aiming for, and why is that a good strategy? If you aren’t competing on price, what reasons do you have to believe that somebody will be willing to spend more on your business?
Below, we will discuss two valuable business models you can and should use to discuss your industry further.
Sometimes PEST is lengthened to PESTLE to include any legal or environmental factors as well. If you believe either will have a significant impact on your business, make sure to include it as well.
It’s just as important to discuss how your competition is navigating the industry you plan on dominating. With a strong idea of where your competition is positioned and the strategic decisions they are making you will be able to determine where your own business fits in.
To begin, discuss what your competition looks like. Are there many small businesses vying for the same customers or are you competing against a couple of whales? List your most important competitors and summarize them. Discuss their location, products, pricing, market share, and any important strategic decisions they have made. Use this information to create a list of their strengths and weaknesses.
After discussing the competition, it’s time to think about where you fit among them. SWOT Analysis is the perfect model to do just that.
Here is what a complete SWOT Analysis looks like:
Once you have completed the SWOT analysis, wrap this section up by talking about your own competitive strategy. Given your industry, the competition, and your own SWOT analysis, what decisions are you making to position the company to succeed?
Readers of your business plan definitely need to know how you’ll be marketing and selling your product or service.There are going to be three key elements of your marketing plan.
Describe your target audience in great detail. The more you know about your customer, the easier it will be to market to them.
After building a strong customer profile of your target audience, you should know what your customer cares about. Think about how your business fits into that, and strategize how you’re going to market to them. Use their demographic and behavioral information to determine the most appropriate channels to focus on.
Your brand should seep into all aspects of your business – the website, advertisements, and even the tone of communications with customers. Whatever strategies you have for these elements, make sure to lay them out.
Finally, include your company logo and slogan, if they already exist. If not, you should begin to think about them and use the rest of this section as a guide.
How exactly do you plan on getting your goods or services into somebody’s hands? Do you plan on hiring a sales staff or will you handle it all yourself initially? Do you plan on doing inbound or outbound sales? What does the sales process look at each step of the marketing funnel?
You’ll also need to think about and discuss pricing. Discuss your pricing strategy and why it’s a good value for your customers. If you are going low or moderately priced, discuss how you can stay profitable and remain differentiated from the competition. If you are a luxury brand, discuss why somebody will be willing to pay more for your business than the competition.
Lastly, consider distribution. Are you going to allow customers to purchase directly from you? Will they have to go through distributors? Do you have any retail partnerships to leverage? These are important decisions that have a profound impact on a business.
Here are some ideas of what you’ll need to outline:
If you’re a service business, you might not have any physical inventory, but your employees should be considered as your supply. After all, without them, you won’t be able to provide your services to your customers. What strategies do you have to recruit and retain the best talent possible? Can you scale quickly through recruiting and training, overtime, or an increase in part-time help?
You should also look back at your sales distribution plan and consider the logistics of shipping any physical products. How often will orders be fulfilled? Do you have the ability to rush orders if necessary? How will returns or incorrect shipments be handled in a way that keeps everybody happy?
Here are the components you must include in your business plan’s financial information:
Use all of the marketing data you’ve put together to determine what a reasonable sales forecast looks like. Project your sales for a period of two or three years, going one month at a time. Include seasonality whenever applicable. As you forecast sales, include exactly how much revenue you expect to earn from those sales, and the total direct cost of those sales. You’ll be able to use these figures to determine revenue and gross margin, which you should use to compare to industry and competitive standards.
Fixed costs are going to stay the same whether you sell one widget or twenty. For example, rent, electricity, insurance, marketing costs, and payroll (with the exception of commission and bonuses), will mostly stay the same no matter what sales look like.
Variable costs, on the other hand, will vary by each unit sold. This includes the cost of materials, shipping, coupons, taxes, etc. Most of this should already be covered in your forecasted sales report, but make sure that nothing is overlooked.
Make sure to consider that as you scale, some fixed costs may become variable. As sales increase, you may have to hire more employees, or move into a bigger office. Keep this in mind by always referring back to your forecasted sales and estimating your business needs as best you can.
Everything comes together on your balance sheet. This includes your projected sales and expenses, but also deals with assets and liabilities.For example, if you take out a loan, you’ll need to include the capital in your assets and the repayments, including interest, in your liabilities. Non-monetary assets, such as the property and machinery must also be included.
You can find a sample balance sheet here .
Month by month, you’ll track exactly how much cash you expect to leave your hands and how much will come in. Keep in mind that not all sales are paid fully right away. Consider how many sales will be paid in full at the time of sale, how many will be paid in 30 days, 60 days, or go completely delinquent.
Once you have your cash flow statement completed, run some quick analysis. Compare your projected expenses each month to the projected cash coming in each month. For any months that project to have a negative cash flow, ensure you have enough money on hand to cover the difference.
You may find two examples of completed cash flow statements here and here .
Customer Lifetime Value is an estimate of exactly how much each customer you acquire will be worth total. A simple way to calculate this is by determining how many purchases a customer makes before churning, and multiplying it by the average amount of their purchase. In other words, how many purchases will they make before moving on from your business, and how much will those purchases be worth?
Let’s take a look at a real-world example. Let’s assume you’re running an oil change business, and you know your average customer gets three oil changes per year. With premium options and add-ons, your average sale is $38.50. Each customer spends an average of three years with you before churning (perhaps they have moved away or found another service they prefer).
In this example, your expected CLV would be $346.50. You know each average customer will make 3 purchases per year, for 3 years, at $38.50 each. 3 x 3 x $38.50 = $346.50, which is your CLV.
Why is CLV so important? Let’s take a look at unit economics.
The formula for cost of acquisition is simple. Divide your total marketing spend by the number of customers you have acquired through all marketing channels. If you spend $25,000 across all marketing channels and acquire 1,000 customers, your average cost per acquisition is $25.00.
Tracking your marketing expenses isn’t the tricky part. Attributing each user to a specific campaign, however, can be. If somebody walks into your store after seeing a TV ad, for example, it can be hard to properly attribute them. Digital campaigns are a bit easier, as there are typically tracking links that make everything easy to calculate. You’ll have to do your due diligence and make your best-educated guesses here, using industry standards whenever necessary and possible.
You should also take the time to break out your unit economics into each marketing channel. This allows you to track which channels are performing well and which ones aren’t. If Facebook is attracting lots of customers but you’re spending so much that your cost of acquisition is higher than expected CLV, you might actually need to stop spending money there.
It’s important to be very clear about exactly how your business has been funded so far. This includes what you have received through investments, series rounds, or personal loans. You will also need to mention any personal funds that you have put into the business, and how much you have saved that you are willing to put into it in the future.
Once you have discussed the funding your business has received, it is appropriate to lay out exactly how much you’ll need. Make sure to also discuss exactly what any loans or investments will be used for and how that spending will be tracked.
Business plan samples.
To reinforce everything we’ve discussed above, let’s take a look at some sample business plans that have already been put together for your review. We’ll discuss some key takeaways from each plan, helping you consider how your business is unique and what you’ll need to emphasize.
A coffee shop is a nice, simple business to start our samples with. A coffee shop requires a small storefront, and the location is critical. Most people will gladly stop in for a nice cup of coffee but are unlikely to drive miles out of their way for one. Notice that because of this, the sales forecast is relatively stagnant, even after several years.
Click here for the sample business plan.
A restaurant business plan will be similar to a coffee shop, but is a little more involved. Start-up costs are higher as it requires a larger storefront and a larger variety of equipment. Variable costs are higher as a quality meal costs much more than a cup of coffee. The sales forecast shows more growth, as people are more willing to travel for a good meal than they are a simple cup of coffee.
Let’s consider a third food-based business to really drive home how businesses that appear similar will have important differences. Food trucks have a much different fixed cost structure than a coffee shop or restaurant, as they don’t have a physical location. Seasonality and location will have a huge impact on salespeople won’t want to stand outside for a burrito when it’s cold and snowy outside. With a much smaller staff, a food truck is also more likely to be open for lunch only, or closed a couple days per week.
It’s good to take a look at a general startup business plan to get an idea of how to estimate costs, sales, etc. This sample plan is a take-out pizza joint. Notice that trends are important, as the business plan notes their market is a growing area and they are aiming to fill a niche for low to middle-income families, which comprise the majority of residents in their service area. They use a mixture of studies and geographic data to make conservative estimates, giving potential investors confidence that the business can be profitable if the strategies are successfully executed.
A photography business is a great example of a company that is minimal to the extreme. Mostly, you will be relying on your own skills and experience. Minus initial equipment and the cost of your own time, expenses are minimal. Still, you see that it’s important to have a strong plan in place so that you understand how to position your services and who exactly you’re aiming to serve.
Here are a variety of tools that make both writing a business plan and getting your business off the ground much easier:
If you want to quickly build your idea into a business plan to validate its value or just to get started, LivePlan is perfect. The business planning process is made simple, as you simply need to answer questions and are given plenty of examples, videos, and tutorials along the way. You can even use LivePlan to collaborate with partners or investors, testing ideas on the fly and seeing its impact on your business’ health.
Click here to take a look at LivePlan.
When you’re starting a business, it’s extremely likely you’ll need quick legal help. You might need advice on licensing, permits, or zoning. Or perhaps you want to discuss how to structure your business as an LLC. Rocket Lawyer can help. You’ll have access to their services for a monthly fee that’s less than a cup of coffee each day. There’s an even option to help incorporate your business by filling out a couple of quick forms.
Click here to take a look at Rocket Lawyer.
Like LivePlan, StratPad offers a cloud-based chance to build your business plan and strategy on the fly. StratPad offers a demo for their services and if you’re looking for funding will even match you up automatically with a financial institution that makes sense for your business. Our suggestion is to take a look at both LivePlan and StratPad and select the one that you like best.
Click here to take a look at StratPad.
If you’re looking for a simple way to create a professional business plan without all the bells and whistles, BizPlan is perfect for you. You’ll be able to create a stylish, professional business plan using intuitive drag-and-drop templates. Financials are easy to create using a user-friendly dashboard.
Click here to take a look at BizPlan.
A typo can derail your business plan and make you look sloppy and unprepared, no matter how much effort you put into it. Grammarly is a world-class spell checker that also checks for many of the most common grammatical error for free. There’s even a browser-based version that you can use no matter where you are. For a fee, you can subscribe to Grammarly Premium, which provides an even more granular check.
Click here to take a look at Grammarly.
Now that we have an idea of everything you need to include in your business plan and which tools you’ll need to get started, it’s time to get started. Here are some websites with sample business plan templates you may use to make writing the perfect business plan a bit easier:
In the end, a business plan is a highly unique and personalized document. A business plan that is right for your business won’t be right for any other business in the world. By closely following the outline and strategies above, however, you’ll have a great base to begin crafting your own perfect business plan.
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How To Start A Business Plan: A Step-By-Step Guide
Creating a business plan is a critical first step for any entrepreneur. Knowing how to start a business plan will help you create a roadmap, guiding your business from startup to growth and beyond. Whether you're looking for investment, trying to set clear goals, or simply organizing your thoughts, a solid business plan can make all the difference.
1. executive summary.
What It Is: This section summarizes your business plan as a whole and outlines your company profile and goals.
What to Include:
Tip: Keep it concise. Although it's the first section, it's often best to write it last, after you’ve detailed everything else.
What It Is: This section provides detailed information about your company, including who you are, what you do, and what markets you serve.
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Tip: Use this section to highlight your company’s strengths and what makes you unique.
What It Is: Market research demonstrates your understanding of the industry and target market.
Tip: Include data and statistics to back up your findings and show that you’ve done your homework.
What It Is: This section outlines your business’s organizational structure and management team.
Tip: Highlight the skills and experiences of your team that will help the business succeed.
What It Is: Here, you detail the products or services you offer or plan to offer.
Tip: Focus on the benefits your products or services bring to your customers.
What It Is: This section explains how you will attract and retain customers.
Tip: Ensure your marketing and sales strategies are aligned with your market research findings.
What It Is: If you’re seeking funding , this section outlines your requirements.
Tip: Be specific and realistic about how much funding you need and how it will be used.
8. Financial Projections
What It Is: Financial projections provide a forecast of your business’s financial future.
Tip: Use realistic and conservative estimates. Consider hiring a financial professional to help with this section if needed.
What It Is: The appendix includes any additional information that supports your business plan.
Tip: Only include essential information that adds value to your business plan.
Creating a business plan requires clarity and precision. First and foremost, keep your business plan clear and concise. Avoid using jargon or complex language that could make the plan difficult to read or understand. Your aim should be to communicate your ideas effectively and efficiently.
Next, be realistic in your approach. Ensure that your goals and financial projections are attainable based on your research and understanding of the market. Overly ambitious projections can undermine your credibility and potentially lead to unrealistic expectations.
It's also essential to remember that a business plan is a dynamic document. As your business grows and market conditions change, you should revisit and revise your plan regularly. This helps you stay aligned with your goals and adapt to new challenges and opportunities.
Finally, seek feedback from experienced business professionals. Having someone with business experience review your plan can provide valuable insights and help identify any potential issues or areas for improvement. Their feedback can enhance the overall quality and effectiveness of your business plan.
By following these tips, you'll be better equipped to create a robust and effective business plan that can guide your business towards success.
The bottom line is that starting a business plan may seem challenging, but with careful planning and attention to detail, you can create a comprehensive guide to steer your business toward success. Use this step-by-step guide to ensure that all essential components are covered, giving your business the best possible start.
Melissa Houston, CPA is the author of Cash Confident: An Entrepreneur’s Guide to Creating a Profitable Business and the founder of She Means Profit . As a Business Strategist for small business owners, Melissa helps women making mid-career shifts, to launch their dream businesses, and I also guide established business owners to grow their businesses to more profitably.
The opinions expressed in this article are not intended to replace any professional or expert accounting and/or tax advice whatsoever.
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What is a business plan, the advantages of having a business plan, the types of business plans, the key elements of a business plan, best business plan software, common challenges of writing a business plan, become an expert business planner, business planning: it’s importance, types and key elements.
Every year, thousands of new businesses see the light of the day. One look at the World Bank's Entrepreneurship Survey and database shows the mind-boggling rate of new business registrations. However, sadly, only a tiny percentage of them have a chance of survival.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, about 20% of small businesses fail in their first year, about 50% in their fifth year.
Research from the University of Tennessee found that 44% of businesses fail within the first three years. Among those that operate within specific sectors, like information (which includes most tech firms), 63% shut shop within three years.
Several other statistics expose the abysmal rates of business failure. But why are so many businesses bound to fail? Most studies mention "lack of business planning" as one of the reasons.
This isn’t surprising at all.
Running a business without a plan is like riding a motorcycle up a craggy cliff blindfolded. Yet, way too many firms ( a whopping 67%) don't have a formal business plan in place.
It doesn't matter if you're a startup with a great idea or a business with an excellent product. You can only go so far without a roadmap — a business plan. Only, a business plan is so much more than just a roadmap. A solid plan allows a business to weather market challenges and pivot quickly in the face of crisis, like the one global businesses are struggling with right now, in the post-pandemic world.
But before you can go ahead and develop a great business plan, you need to know the basics. In this article, we'll discuss the fundamentals of business planning to help you plan effectively for 2021.
Now before we begin with the details of business planning, let us understand what it is.
No two businesses have an identical business plan, even if they operate within the same industry. So one business plan can look entirely different from another one. Still, for the sake of simplicity, a business plan can be defined as a guide for a company to operate and achieve its goals.
More specifically, it's a document in writing that outlines the goals, objectives, and purpose of a business while laying out the blueprint for its day-to-day operations and key functions such as marketing, finance, and expansion.
A good business plan can be a game-changer for startups that are looking to raise funds to grow and scale. It convinces prospective investors that the venture will be profitable and provides a realistic outlook on how much profit is on the cards and by when it will be attained.
However, it's not only new businesses that greatly benefit from a business plan. Well-established companies and large conglomerates also need to tweak their business plans to adapt to new business environments and unpredictable market changes.
Before getting into learning more about business planning, let us learn the advantages of having one.
Since a detailed business plan offers a birds-eye view of the entire framework of an establishment, it has several benefits that make it an important part of any organization. Here are few ways a business plan can offer significant competitive edge.
Now let's look at the various types involved in business planning.
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Business plans are formulated according to the needs of a business. It can be a simple one-page document or an elaborate 40-page affair, or anything in between. While there’s no rule set in stone as to what exactly a business plan can or can’t contain, there are a few common types of business plan that nearly all businesses in existence use.
Here’s an overview of a few fundamental types of business plans.
There is some preliminary work that’s required before you actually sit down to write a plan for your business. Knowing what goes into a business plan is one of them.
Here are the key elements of a good business plan:
The importance of business planning is it simplifies the planning of your company's finances to present this information to a bank or investors. Here are the best business plan software providers available right now:
The importance of business planning cannot be emphasized enough, but it can be challenging to write a business plan. Here are a few issues to consider before you start your business planning:
Whether you’re running your own business or in-charge of ensuring strategic performance and growth for your employer or clients, knowing the ins and outs of business planning can set you up for success.
Be it the launch of a new and exciting product or an expansion of operations, business planning is the necessity of all large and small companies. Which is why the need for professionals with superior business planning skills will never die out. In fact, their demand is on the rise with global firms putting emphasis on business analysis and planning to cope with cut-throat competition and market uncertainties.
While some are natural-born planners, most people have to work to develop this important skill. Plus, business planning requires you to understand the fundamentals of business management and be familiar with business analysis techniques . It also requires you to have a working knowledge of data visualization, project management, and monitoring tools commonly used by businesses today.
Simpliearn’s Executive Certificate Program in General Management will help you develop and hone the required skills to become an extraordinary business planner. This comprehensive general management program by IIM Indore can serve as a career catalyst, equipping professionals with a competitive edge in the ever-evolving business environment.
Business planning is developing a company's mission or goals and defining the strategies you will use to achieve those goals or tasks. The process can be extensive, encompassing all aspects of the operation, or it can be concrete, focusing on specific functions within the overall corporate structure.
The following are the four types of business plans:
This type of planning typically describes the company's day-to-day operations. Single-use plans are developed for events and activities that occur only once (such as a single marketing campaign). Ongoing plans include problem-solving policies, rules for specific regulations, and procedures for a step-by-step process for achieving particular goals.
Strategic plans are all about why things must occur. A high-level overview of the entire business is included in strategic planning. It is the organization's foundation and will dictate long-term decisions.
Tactical plans are about what will happen. Strategic planning is aided by tactical planning. It outlines the tactics the organization intends to employ to achieve the goals outlined in the strategic plan.
When something unexpected occurs or something needs to be changed, contingency plans are created. In situations where a change is required, contingency planning can be beneficial.
The following are the seven steps required for a business plan:
If your company is to run a viable business plan and attract investors, your information must be of the highest quality.
The goal must be unambiguous. You will waste your time if you don't know why you're writing a business plan. Knowing also implies having a target audience for when the plan is expected to get completed.
Some refer to it as a company profile, while others refer to it as a snapshot. It's designed to be mentally quick and digestible because it needs to stick in the reader's mind quickly since more information is provided later in the plan.
Explain the company's current situation, both good and bad. Details should also include patents, licenses, copyrights, and unique strengths that no one else has.
A strategic marketing plan is required because it outlines how your product or service will be communicated, delivered, and sold to customers.
Another standard error is that people only write one business plan. Startups have several versions, just as candidates have numerous resumes for various potential employers.
Your motivation must be a compelling reason for people to believe your company will succeed in all circumstances. A mission should drive a business, not just selling, to make money. That mission is defined by your motivation as specified in your business plan.
These are the basic steps in business planning:
Briefly describe your company, its objectives, and your plan to keep it running.
Add specifics to your detailed description of the product or service you intend to offer. Where, why, and how much you plan to sell your product or service and any special offers.
Conduct research on your industry and the ideal customers to whom you want to sell. Identify the issues you want to solve for your customers.
Operations are the process of running your business, including the people, skills, and experience required to make it successful.
How are you going to reach your target audience? How you intend to sell to them may include positioning, pricing, promotion, and distribution.
Consider funding costs, operating expenses, and projected income. Include your financial objectives and a breakdown of what it takes to make your company profitable. With proper business planning through the help of support, system, and mentorship, it is easy to start a business.
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Starting a business often begins with writing a business plan , especially if you need funding . It acts as a roadmap, guiding you through each stage of launching and managing your company, and it presents a clear, compelling case to potential investors and partners. But here's the thing: not everyone finds this step intuitive. That's where a business plan outline can be incredibly helpful.
Creating a detailed business plan outline helps you organize your thoughts and ensure you cover all the key aspects of your business strategy. Plus, it might be just what you need to overcome that blank page and start typing.
Below, you'll find an easy-to-follow guide on how to craft your business plan outline, and an example to show you what it should look like.
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Think of a business plan outline as the skeleton of your entire business plan. It gives a high-level overview of the main sections you'll need to flesh out later. It's not the final document but a crucial step in getting you there.
Simply put, it's like creating a detailed table of contents for your business plan, showing you exactly what information to include and how everything fits together. A well-structured business plan outline also helps you plan things ahead, saving time and effort.
Follow these steps to build your business plan outline and learn exactly what each section should include.
(Bear in mind that every business plan is unique, tailored to the specific needs and goals of the business. While the structure below is common, the order of sections may vary—only the executive summary will always come first.)
Imagine you have just 60 seconds to convince someone to invest in your business. That's the essence of a strong executive summary. Although it appears first on your business plan, this section is often written last because it sums up the entire plan. Think of it as your elevator pitch . This section gives a quick overview of your entire business plan, highlighting key points that grab the reader's attention.
Keep it clear and concise. Start with a brief overview of your business, including its name and what it offers. Summarize your mission statement and objectives, and don’t forget to mention crucial aspects like financial projections and competitive advantages.
Here's where you provide detailed information about your company. Begin with the business name and location. Describe the legal structure (e.g., sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation) and ownership. If your business already exists, share a brief history.
For new ventures, explain the business's nature and the problems you aim to solve. Go into more detail about your vision and mission statements, outlining your goals and the principles guiding your business. This section helps potential investors and stakeholders grasp your company’s identity and purpose.
This section shares insights into your company’s industry. Start with a landscape analysis to give an overview of the market, including its size, growth rate, and key players.
Next, define your target market and customer demographics—age, location, income, and interests—detailing who your ideal customers are. Identify market needs and trends your business will address, and highlight customer pain points your product or service aims to solve.
Consider conducting a SWOT analysis to evaluate your business's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats, and gain a strategic view of where your business stands in the competitive landscape.
Describe how your business is structured and who runs it. Outline the organizational structure, and if helps, include a chart. Introduce the leadership team and key personnel, highlighting their qualifications and roles. If you have a board of directors, mention them and briefly explain their involvement.
Then, outline your production processes, detailing how your product or service is (or will be) created—from sourcing materials to delivery—to give a comprehensive view of your operational capabilities.
This section of your business plan outline is crucial for showing potential investors what makes your products and services unique and valuable.
Clearly describe what your business offers, emphasizing your unique selling propositions (USPs) and the benefits and features that set you apart from the competition. Talk about the product life cycle, including any plans for future updates.
If your business holds any intellectual property or proprietary technologies, detail them here to underscore your competitive advantages.
Having a fantastic product or service is just half the battle. The marketing plan section should outline how you'll reach your target market and convert them into customers.
Begin with market positioning and branding, explaining how you want your brand perceived. Detail your marketing and promotional strategies, including specific tactics to reach your target audience.
Discuss your sales strategy, focusing on how you'll convert leads into customers. Lastly, include your pricing strategy and provide a sales forecast, projecting your expected revenue over a certain period.
Here, the goal is to give a detailed overview of the physical and logistical aspects of your company. Start with the business location and facilities, describing where it operates and any significant physical assets. Detail the technology and equipment needed for daily operations.
Briefly describe your supply chain and logistics processes to illustrate how you manage inventory, procurement, and distribution. Finish it by outlining your production process and quality control measures to ensure your products or services consistently meet high standards.
Use this section of the business plan to show how your company will succeed financially. Include financial projections like income statements and cash flow statements. Specify how much capital you need and how you plan to use it, discussing funding sources.
Conduct a break-even analysis to estimate when your business will become profitable. Be transparent and address any financial risks and assumptions, outlining how you plan to mitigate them.
In this section, include any additional information that supports your business plan. This might be resumes of key personnel to highlight your team's expertise and experience, or even legal documents and agreements.
Include market research data and surveys to back up your market analysis. Add financial statements for a detailed look at your financial plan. Also, provide detailed product specifications to give a clear understanding of your products and services.
Not quite there yet? Take a look at this business plan outline example—it will make everything clear for you.
3.1 Executive Summary
3.2 Company Description
3.3 Market Research and Analysis
3.4 Organization and Management
3.5 Products and Services
3.6 Marketing Strategy
3.7 Operations Plan
3.8 Financial Plan
3.9 Appendices and Exhibits (if applicable)
Once you've done your business plan outline, it's time to fill in the gaps and craft a winning business plan. Here are some bonus tips to keep in mind:
Read this next: How to Start a Business in 8 Steps: A Comprehensive Guide from Concept to Launch
Need help writing your business plan? Explore over 550 industry-specific business plan examples for inspiration.
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View all sample business plans
Before you start exploring our library of business plan examples, it's worth taking the time to understand the traditional business plan format . You'll find that the business plan samples in this library and most investor-approved business plans will include the following sections:
The executive summary is an overview of your business and your plans. It comes first in your business plan and is ideally only one to two pages. You should also plan to write this section last after you've written your full business plan.
Your executive summary should include a summary of the problem you are solving, a description of your product or service, an overview of your target market, a brief description of your team, a summary of your financials, and your funding requirements (if you are raising money).
The products & services chapter of your business plan is where the real meat of your plan lives. It includes information about the problem that you're solving, your solution, and any traction that proves that it truly meets the need you identified.
This is your chance to explain why you're in business and that people care about what you offer. It needs to go beyond a simple product or service description and get to the heart of why your business works and benefits your customers.
Conducting a market analysis ensures that you fully understand the market that you're entering and who you'll be selling to. This section is where you will showcase all of the information about your potential customers. You'll cover your target market as well as information about the growth of your market and your industry. Focus on outlining why the market you're entering is viable and creating a realistic persona for your ideal customer base.
Part of defining your opportunity is determining what your competitive advantage may be. To do this effectively you need to get to know your competitors just as well as your target customers. Every business will have competition, if you don't then you're either in a very young industry or there's a good reason no one is pursuing this specific venture.
To succeed, you want to be sure you know who your competitors are, how they operate, necessary financial benchmarks, and how your business will be positioned. Start by identifying who your competitors are or will be during your market research. Then leverage competitive analysis tools like the competitive matrix and positioning map to solidify where your business stands in relation to the competition.
The marketing and sales plan section of your business plan details how you plan to reach your target market segments. You'll address how you plan on selling to those target markets, what your pricing plan is, and what types of activities and partnerships you need to make your business a success.
The operations section in our business plan examples covers the day-to-day workflows for your business to deliver your product or service. What's included here fully depends on the type of business. Typically you can expect to add details on your business location, sourcing and fulfillment, use of technology, and any partnerships or agreements that are in place.
The milestones section is where you lay out strategic milestones to reach your business goals.
A good milestone clearly lays out the parameters of the task at hand and sets expectations for its execution. You'll want to include a description of the task, a proposed due date, who is responsible, and eventually a budget that's attached. You don't need extensive project planning in this section, just key milestones that you want to hit and when you plan to hit them.
You should also discuss key metrics, which are the numbers you will track to determine your success. Some common data points worth tracking include conversion rates, customer acquisition costs, profit, etc.
Use this section of your business plan to describe your current team and who you need to hire. If you intend to pursue funding, you'll need to highlight the relevant experience of your team members. Basically, this is where you prove that this is the right team to successfully start and grow the business. You will also need to provide a quick overview of your legal structure and history if you're already up and running.
Your financial plan should include a sales and revenue forecast, profit and loss statement, cash flow statement, and a balance sheet. You may not have established financials of any kind at this stage. Not to worry, rather than getting all of the details ironed out, focus on making projections and strategic forecasts for your business. You can always update your financial statements as you begin operations and start bringing in actual accounting data.
Now, if you intend to pitch to investors or submit a loan application, you'll also need a "use of funds" report in this business plan section. This outlines how you intend to leverage any funding for your business and how much you're looking to acquire. Like the rest of your financials, this can always be updated later on.
The appendix isn't a required element of your business plan. However, it is a useful place to add any charts, tables, definitions, legal notes, or other critical information that supports your business plan. These are often lengthier or out-of-place information that simply didn't work naturally into the structure of your plan. You'll notice that in these business plan examples, the appendix mainly includes extended financial statements.
While all business plans cover similar categories, the style and function fully depend on how you intend to use your plan. To get the most out of your business plan, it's best to find a format that suits your needs. Here are a few common business plan types worth considering.
The tried-and-true traditional business plan is a formal document meant to be used for external purposes. Typically this is the type of plan you'll need when applying for funding or pitching to investors. It can also be used when training or hiring employees, working with vendors, or in any other situation where the full details of your business must be understood by another individual.
The business model canvas is a one-page template designed to demystify the business planning process. It removes the need for a traditional, copy-heavy business plan, in favor of a single-page outline that can help you and outside parties better explore your business idea.
The structure ditches a linear format in favor of a cell-based template. It encourages you to build connections between every element of your business. It's faster to write out and update, and much easier for you, your team, and anyone else to visualize your business operations.
The true middle ground between the business model canvas and a traditional business plan is the one-page business plan . This format is a simplified version of the traditional plan that focuses on the core aspects of your business.
By starting with a one-page plan , you give yourself a minimal document to build from. You'll typically stick with bullet points and single sentences making it much easier to elaborate or expand sections into a longer-form business plan.
Growth planning is more than a specific type of business plan. It's a methodology. It takes the simplicity and styling of the one-page business plan and turns it into a process for you to continuously plan, forecast, review, and refine based on your performance.
It holds all of the benefits of the single-page plan, including the potential to complete it in as little as 27 minutes . However, it's even easier to convert into a more detailed business plan thanks to how heavily it's tied to your financials. The overall goal of growth planning isn't to just produce documents that you use once and shelve. Instead, the growth planning process helps you build a healthier company that thrives in times of growth and remains stable through times of crisis.
It's faster, keeps your plan concise, and ensures that your business plan is always up-to-date.
Ready to start writing your own business plan but aren't sure where to start? Download our free business plan template that's been updated for 2024.
This simple, modern, investor-approved business plan sample is designed to make planning easy. It's a proven format that has helped over 1 million businesses write business plans for bank loans, funding pitches, business expansion, and even business sales. It includes additional instructions for how to write each section and is formatted to be SBA-lender approved. All you need to do is fill in the blanks.
How do you know what elements need to be included in your business plan, especially if you've never written one before? Looking at business plan examples can help you visualize what a full, traditional plan looks like, so you know what you're aiming for before you get started. Here's how to get the most out of a business plan sample.
You don't need to find an example of a business plan that's an exact fit for your business. Your business location, target market, and even your particular product or service may not match up exactly with the business plans in our gallery. But, you don't need an exact match for it to be helpful. Instead, look for a business plan sample that's related to the type of business you're starting.
For example, if you want to start a vegetarian restaurant, a plan for a steakhouse can be a great match. While the specifics of your actual startup will differ, the elements you'd want to include in your restaurant's business plan are likely to be very similar.
Every startup and small business is unique, so you'll want to avoid copying an example of a business plan word for word. It just won't be as helpful, since each business is unique. You want your business plan to be a useful tool for starting a business —and getting funding if you need it.
One of the key benefits of writing a business plan is simply going through the process. When you sit down to write, you'll naturally think through important pieces, like your startup costs, your target market , and any market analysis or research you'll need to do to be successful.
You'll also look at where you stand among your competition (and everyone has competition), and lay out your goals and the milestones you'll need to meet. Looking at an example of a business plan's financials section can be helpful because you can see what should be included, but take them with a grain of salt. Don't assume that financial projections for a sample company will fit your own small business.
If you're looking for more resources to help you get started, our business planning guide is a good place to start. You can also download our free business plan template .
Think about business planning as something you do often , rather than a document you create once and never look at again. If you take the time to write a plan that really fits your own company, it will be a better, more useful tool to grow your business. It should also make it easier to share your vision and strategy so everyone on your team is on the same page.
Keep in mind that businesses that use their business plan as a management tool to help run their business grow 30 percent faster than those businesses that don't. For that to be true for your company, you'll think of a part of your business planning process as tracking your actual results against your financial forecast on a regular basis.
If things are going well, your business plan will help you think about how you can re-invest in your business. If you find that you're not meeting goals, you might need to adjust your budgets or your sales forecast. Either way, tracking your progress compared to your plan can help you adjust quickly when you identify challenges and opportunities—it's one of the most powerful things you can do to grow your business.
If you're planning to pitch your business to investors or seek out any funding, you'll need a pitch deck to accompany your business plan. A pitch deck is designed to inform people about your business. You want your pitch deck to be short and easy to follow, so it's best to keep your presentation under 20 slides.
Your pitch deck and pitch presentation are likely some of the first things that an investor will see to learn more about your company. So, you need to be informative and pique their interest. Luckily we have a round-up of real-world pitch deck examples used by successful startups that you can review and reference as you build your pitch.
For more resources, check out our full Business Pitch Guide .
Now that you know how to use an example of a business plan to help you write a plan for your business, it's time to find the right one.
Use the search bar below to get started and find the right business plan example for your business idea.
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Costing less than $40k, ku’s top 10 online mba stands out for its quality and affordability . 1.
While other nationally leading MBA programs charge, on average, roughly $1,605 per credit and can cost upwards of $150,000 to complete, KU's online master of business administration program costs just $865 per course credit*—nearly half the price without compromising on excellence. 1 Additionally, earning KU’s online MBA can cost a third of what it costs at other top 10 programs.
In any situation, understanding the financial aspect of your MBA is crucial to ensure you earn your degree with confidence.
This tuition and financial aid information page provides essential details and resources to help you budget for your degree.
Read on to discover KU’s online MBA program tuition fees, graduate student financial aid information, scholarship options, and additional MBA funding options and tips that can help students like you earn your MBA tuition and fees.
*Cost for out-of-state tuition
Tuition is calculated on a per credit hour basis with estimated total program costs outlined below:
2024-2025 Academic Year | |
Graduate Tuition Per Credit Hour | $865 |
Estimated Total Program Cost | $36,330 |
Tuition and costs effective as of February 2, 2024. Tuition rates are not inclusive of textbooks and fees. Tuition and costs are subject to change and should be confirmed on the University’s official tuition listing at registrar.ku.edu/online-tuition-fees .
Please contact an admissions outreach advisor for more information on tuition and fees by calling 855-639-7799.
Everyone's financial situation is unique. Whether through scholarships, employer assistance, or government support, aspiring students have numerous paths to affordably plan for their futures.
The following options are available to you as a KU School of Business student:
At the University of Kansas School of Business, there are several types of financial aid available to students: grants, scholarships, and loans. To be eligible for any form of financial aid, prospective and current students must fill out a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) .
It is recommended that applicants file the FAFSA as early as possible for the upcoming school year (the priority date is usually December 1) so they are eligible for the highest award possible.
Get details on each type of MBA financial aid below.
Grants are available from federal, state, and university sources. They are typically awarded based on financial need and do not need to be repaid.
There are dozens of private, state, and federal scholarships available to online MBA students . Scholarship eligibility requirements can vary according to background, accomplishments, and abilities. International students may wish to pursue scholarships offered in their home countries as well.
Online MBA students may also apply for loans to cover their education costs. According to U.S. News & World Report, the median base salary plus bonus paid for new MBA graduates from 124-ranked programs in 2023 was $128,997. 2
Military veterans may use funding from the GI Bill to pay for the online MBA program, either alone or in combination with other forms of financial aid. There are also a number of veteran-specific scholarships, grants, and fellowships available from other sources.
Many companies cover education costs for relevant courses. These benefits are especially accessible for online MBA students as they can keep working as they study. As taxpayers, working students can alleviate the cost of higher education using government tax credits, deductions, and savings plans. 3
Work-study programs offer graduate students part-time, need-based employment to help cover educational expenses. These positions, available on-campus and off-campus, often relate to the student’s field of study and offer relevant experience.
Watch this informative webinar to learn about the variety of funding and financing options available for the University of Kansas’ top-ranked, affordable online MBA.
Tuition and financial aid faqs, how do i finance my mba.
To finance your online MBA, consider leveraging a combination of the following options:
These avenues can help you effectively manage the costs associated with pursuing an online MBA while aligning with your financial goals, resources, and career.
What’s included in a comprehensive guide to mba tuition and financial aid, does ku offer financial aid webinars for mba students, what scholarships and loans are available for mba programs, what are effective strategies for managing mba costs, contact ku for graduate program financial aid advice.
Whether you want to stop by in person, give us a call, or send us an email, the following offices are more than happy to answer any of your questions regarding financial aid for the online MBA.
1502 Iowa St. Lawrence, KS 66045 785-864-4700 (phone) 785-864-5469 (fax) [email protected]
Office hours 8 AM-5 PM CT, Monday-Friday Closed on all state holidays.
1450 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 121/123 Strong Hall Lawrence, KS 66045 785-864-4423 (phone) 785-864-5230 (fax) [email protected]
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The University of Kansas has engaged Everspring , a leading provider of education and technology services, to support select aspects of program delivery.
The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University's programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University's Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, [email protected] , 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785) 864-6414 , 711 TTY.
The MBA program offers a variety of opportunities for anyone interested in the demanding world of business. To fit the demands of working professionals, we proudly offer the MBA through an evening hybrid and online format. Regardless of the program structure you choose, you will receive the skills and knowledge necessary to succeed in the fast-paced, ever-changing world of business.
We are proud to offer two MBA program options to best suit your goals and schedule.
The evening hybrid MBA program is meticulously crafted to support working professionals aiming to elevate their careers without sacrificing their current professional roles. Our alternating in-person and online format allows you to progress at your own pace, as you can choose between full-time or part-time commitments. Classes are conveniently timed from 5:30 to 6:45 p.m. on either Monday/Wednesday or Tuesday/Thursday, with additional classes meeting once a week from 7 to 9:45 p.m. Please note that for those pursuing dual degrees, the hybrid format applies only to the MBA component.
A unique offering of the evening hybrid MBA is the program concentrations. These concentrations are ideal for professionals who want specialized, in depth knowledge in a specific business area. Your selected concentration will allow you to enhance your qualifications to target specific job opportunities, receive networking opportunities in your chosen field, and acquire specialized skills for industry relevance.
The online MBA program accommodates the schedules of working professionals around the globe. The asynchronous structure allows students to access coursework and lectures at their convenience to help them balance their studies with personal and professional commitments. The program maintains a rigorous academic standard equal to that of in-person courses, with all students having access to the same high-quality resources and faculty expertise.
This option comprises seven core classes to cover essential business disciplines. It also offers seven electives to help students tailor their education to specific interests and career goals. Electives range from topics such as advanced business strategies to innovative management practices.
Double your expertise through our dual-degree programs that are designed to provide comprehensive knowledge and credentials in two distinct but complementary fields. Current offerings include the following:
At Lee Business School, we believe a high-quality education should be accessible to all aspiring business leaders. As the only business and accounting program in Southern Nevada that is accredited by AACSB International—the gold standard in business education—our program ensures that students receive a world-class education that meets the highest standards of excellence. Our strong rankings in U.S. News & World Report further attest to the quality and value of our program.
With competitive tuition rates and various financial aid options available, we strive to make our MBA program affordable for students from diverse backgrounds. Visit the Tuition and College Cost page for more information. Please note that a differential fee applies for this program. For an approximate cost breakdown, contact the Office of Graduate Student Services at [email protected] .
Your Nevada residency status plays a key part in your tuition rate. New graduate students are initially classified as out-of-state, with potential reclassification through a straightforward application process. Nevada residents enjoy significantly reduced tuition rates. International students on a non-resident visa are classified as out-of-state but can change their status after a year with a green card. Detailed residency guidelines are available to ensure you have all the information you need to potentially lower your educational costs.
Learn More About Nevada Residency
“The MBA program has been a transformative experience for my professional growth. The diverse curriculum, expert faculty, and real-world application opportunities gave me the skills and confidence to excel in my career. Joining and becoming vice president of the MBAA allowed me to actively participate in the community, and attending the events and socials allowed me to connect with peers and grow. ” Vicky Saab MBA (Concentration in MIS), Spring 2024 Graduate
Our graduates are highly sought after by top companies across various industries, reflecting the exceptional quality of education and training they receive. From prestigious job titles to impactful roles at leading organizations, UNLV MBA graduates embark on diverse and rewarding career paths. Some potential career paths include
The exceptional MBA student experience at Lee Business School Offers a supportive and dynamic environment that fosters both personal and professional growth. Students benefit from a diverse array of opportunities, including access to industry leaders, professional development resources, and a vibrant community of peers and alumni. The program is designed to equip students with the skills and experiences needed to excel in the global business landscape.
Lee speaker series and seminars.
The Lee Speaker Series connects students with industry leaders, which is essential to the MBA program experience. Twice a semester, C-Suite executives are welcomed to campus to network with students and share important insights regarding various industries.
Learn more about the Lee Speaker Series and Seminars .
Students enrolled in our MBA program will have exclusive access to LinkedIn Learning to enhance their skills in critical areas such as strategic management, financial analysis, and leadership development.
Students have the opportunity to take advantage of The Grad Academy at the UNLV Graduate College, which serves as the central hub for professional and career development programming for graduate students, as well as graduate school preparation for undergraduate students. Through a range of free programs, badges, certifications, workshops, and events, The Grad Academy supports students in developing competencies that position them for academic, career, and life success.
Learn more about the Grad Academy .
Every summer, our program’s students and alumni have the opportunity to travel to an international destination to experience the business and culture. Embracing the dynamic and global business environment, the MBA program arranges business visits and immersive cultural excursions. Past destinations include the Czech Republic, Argentina, Russia, and China.
The MBA program is fortunate to have extensive relationships with companies throughout the southwest region. Each semester, MBA Program students can tour and engage companies representing various industries and disciplines. Recent company treks include Golden Knights City National Arena, Area 15, Cemex, 21st Century Fox, Dignity Health, and T-Mobile Arena.
The MBAA aims to build community and engagement among current MBA students, alumni, faculty, and local business leaders. This student organization hosts several events throughout the year, including mixers, workshops, and recreational activities. It may also open the door for you to lead and influence through leadership positions available within the association.
Learn more about the MBAA .
The Lee Medallion Program is a distinguished acknowledgement for graduate and professional students who exhibit exceptional involvement and achievement. Participation in designated activities is necessary for those aspiring to join the program. Upon completion, participants will receive the esteemed Lee Medallion during the semester of their graduation. We strongly advocate wearing the medallions during commencement as a distinguished addition to your graduation attire.
Learn more about the Lee Medallion Program .
Our faculty and staff are dedicated to seeing MBA students grow and graduate. As part of that dedication, we encourage students to take advantage of various resources, including:
The UNLV campus is located in the center of Las Vegas–a city with deep entrepreneurial roots that provides a stomping ground of energy and creative opportunities for business students. Lee Business School has long-standing relationships and ties with the business community. Our alumni lead some of the most successful gaming and hospitality companies in the world, have built innovative entrepreneurial ventures, and held significant titles in government from governor to senator. Our location is a living laboratory where you can get hands-on experience in your future career while making a difference in a thriving community.
Learn more about Studying in Las Vegas .
Understanding comprehensive program data is essential for making informed decisions about educational investments. By examining key metrics such as return on investment (ROI), student demographics, and post-graduation outcomes, you can evaluate the potential benefits and align your career goals with our program's offerings. This data empowers you to assess the value of the MBA program and how it can significantly enhance your professional trajectory.
View ROI and Student Data
We welcome applications from ambitious graduates across all disciplines and from individuals from all experience levels. Any student wishing to apply to the MBA program should meet the following requirements:
To receive a comprehensive admission checklist, please email [email protected] .
Fall Term: May 1 – International applicants Aug. 1 – Domestic or permanent residence applicants
Spring Term: Oct. 1 – International applicants Nov. 15 – Domestic or permanent residence applicants
Summer Term: March 15 – International applicants April 1 – Domestic or permanent residence applicants
“Our professors are dedicated to providing students with essential managerial skills and an innovative learning environment. The Lee MBA journey will empower students to achieve their career success and growth. The skills, knowledge, and network our students acquire are valuable rewards that last throughout their entire careers and take students further than they ever imagined.” Won-Yong Oh, Ph.D Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Management, Entrepreneurship & Technology
Lee Business School Office of Graduate Student Services Lisa Davis, Ph.D. Executive Director for the Office of Graduate Student Services 702-895-1367 [email protected]
Lee Business School Graduate Student Services 702-895-3655 [email protected]
Visit our Degrees Directory to view our catalog information.
Written by Michael Feder
Reviewed by Kathryn Uhles , MIS, MSP, Dean, College of Business and IT
A guide on how to get an mba.
So, you’ve decided the time is right to pursue a Master of Business Administration (MBA). Whether you want to grow your earning potential, prepare for new opportunities or simply develop your skills as a leader or manager, an MBA can offer you opportunities that may not exist for those with only a bachelor’s degree.
There are multiple pathways to an MBA for professionals, from traditional tracks at “brick-and-mortar” universities to flexible, online MBA degree programs that allow you to balance work and life with your education. Let’s walk through everything you need to know as you explore this pathway.
An MBA is a graduate degree that many professionals use to prepare them for career growth. The degree program typically emphasizes leadership, management and marketing skills, with courses in MBA programs focusing on critical thinking and effective management practices.
MBAs are valuable credentials that are often helpful to those who want to enhance their knowledge and potential. But what’s the best way to get an MBA, and how long does it take?
Earning your MBA can be transformative for your career, but the steps to this accomplishment might be more complex than you initially thought. As you consider whether an MBA is right for you, remember that it’s often a multistep process with a significant time commitment. That said, if you decide to pursue your MBA, the following process is typical for most candidates:
The first step toward an MBA is having an appropriate undergraduate degree. While most MBA programs don’t require a specified field of study for a bachelor's degree, backgrounds in business, finance or economics provide a solid foundation for further study. However, the MBA-competency based program at UOPX does require a business-related bachelor’s degree.
Work experience isn’t just a crucial part of MBA admission, but a sign that you can fully engage with course content. Having at least two to five years of professional experience can help prospective MBA students better understand and interact with an MBA program, but that’s not necessarily a requirement unless pursuing a competency-based MBA program. For those who want to pursue a self-driven, competency-based MBA program, that preexisting experience is critical for demonstrating mastery.
While University of Phoenix does not require GMAT or GRE scores for admission, some MBA programs do. Preparation and scoring well on these tests can help you assess whether you’re ready for the rigors of a graduate program.
Research potential MBA programs early to understand their requirements and how each program may fit within your priorities. Consider the following aspects:
When considering an MBA program within the context of your professional goals, think about whether you are pursuing it to meet a requirement for a specific position or for other reasons. Think about whether you plan on attending classes in person, or if an online degree program would make more sense for your lifestyle. Finally, decide whether you want to pursue your degree on a part- or full-time basis.
What do MBA programs look for?
Depending on the institution, you’ll likely need to have several items in hand as you apply to MBA programs. These are:
One school that won’t ask for test scores, letters of recommendation or application essays? University of Phoenix.
Once you have the required information in hand, it’s time to apply to the MBA program or programs of your choice. University of Phoenix offers a flexible, simple admissions process that doesn’t rely on test scores or application essays. Enrollment counselors will even help request your prior transcripts.
After you’ve applied and been accepted to the MBA programs of your choice, it’s time to decide. Complete the enrollment process at your chosen school and prepare for the experience by speaking with academic counselors.
Starting an MBA program is only one step. Whether you choose to go with a traditional MBA, pursue an online degree or tackle a competency-based program, you’ll need to balance your schoolwork with your existing commitments.
How long it takes to earn your MBA largely depends on several factors, such as the type of degree you pursue. Traditional MBA degrees generally take up to two years. Competency-based programs can be completed in as little as 12 months. As always, your own experience will depend on the number of classes you’re able to take and how much time you can dedicate to your education.
Professionals who want to earn two master’s degrees at once may need more time. The MBA is sometimes combined with other relevant master’s programs for an enhanced experience, as with UOPX’s MHA/MBA dual degree program. This offering combines a Master of Health Administration with an MBA; students can complete it in as little as 27 months. This program can prepare individuals for a rewarding career in healthcare administration.
Discovering the potential benefits of earning a graduate degree goes far beyond simply asking what you can do with an MBA . Key advantages for learners include:
Earning an MBA isn’t just about making more money or obtaining promotions, though. It’s also an excellent way to experience personal growth and meet new people. An MBA’s profound, far-reaching impact is one of the best investments you can make in your education, especially if you want to become a stronger manager or entrepreneur.
What qualifications do i need to get an mba.
No matter where you intend to pursue an MBA, you’ll need a bachelor’s degree to get started.
At University of Phoenix, you’ll also need to be a U.S. citizen or valid permanent resident. Additionally, you must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 on your official transcript, and you must not have been expelled from a higher education institution. Finally, you will need to meet program-specific requirements.
University of Phoenix students can complete their traditional MBA in as little as 16 months. Competency-based MBA students can complete their degree in up to 12 months.
While some MBA programs require you to take the GMAT or GRE to apply, University of Phoenix does not.
Many people ask how much it costs to get an MBA. The cost across public and private institutions is broad and typically doesn’t factor in tuition assistance, scholarships or financial aid that students may or may not receive.
University of Phoenix’s MBA carries on the institution’s tradition of barrier-free education. The University strives to offer a fairly priced MBA program and deliver career-relevant skills graduates can apply as they learn them. In addition, UOPX support continues through opportunities such as career services post-graduation.
Earning your MBA is an exciting opportunity that, at University of Phoenix, can happen through two dynamic programs.
University of Phoenix helps professionals earn their MBA on their schedule. Flexible online courses and student-centered academic support mean you’ll never take the journey on your own.
Request information about an online MBA from University of Phoenix today .
A graduate of Johns Hopkins University and its Writing Seminars program and winner of the Stephen A. Dixon Literary Prize, Michael Feder brings an eye for detail and a passion for research to every article he writes. His academic and professional background includes experience in marketing, content development, script writing and SEO. Today, he works as a multimedia specialist at University of Phoenix where he covers a variety of topics ranging from healthcare to IT.
Since 2006, Kathryn Uhles has served University of Phoenix in Student Services, Operations, Curriculum and most recently as faculty and Dean of the College of Business and Information Technology. She oversees the business and IT program and course offerings as well as the college faculty.
This article has been vetted by University of Phoenix's editorial advisory committee. Read more about our editorial process.
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Best schools for executive mba programs 2024 | top 20 ranked.
The University of Oxford Saïd Business School leads the list of the best schools for Executive MBA programs in 2024 ©University of Oxford Saïd Business School / FB
Top global business schools ranging from Cambridge to Columbia appear in this list of the best schools for Executive MBA programs in 2024. Check out the best EMBA programs
Wed Jul 17 2024
The QS Executive MBA Rankings showcase the world’s best EMBA programs each year. The list typically features prestigious global institutions including the likes of MIT Sloan School of Management in the US, France’s HEC Paris, the UK’s London Business School (LBS) and Spain’s IESE Business School.
The 194 business schools assessed for the 2024 list hail from 45 countries and territories. Among them, business schools from the US have the largest representation with 67 ranked schools, France follows behind with 16, and Canada has the third most business schools with 12.
Schools are ranked according to a number of metrics which are key at executive level. These include: program recognition among employers, the quality of the cohort (presence of C-Suite and management experience), research and innovation, and employability outcomes.
In 2024, University of Oxford’s Saïd Business School leads the way as the world’s best EMBA program. After placing third in 2023, the school rises to the top buoyed by growth in the experience and quality of its cohort. According to QS, the program is among the world’s best in employer reputation, diversity, and thought leadership.
Following behind and retaining second place for another year is IESE Business School. Based in Barcelona, IESE is one of two top-10 ranking Spanish schools in this list of the best EMBA programs.
Last year’s number one-ranked school, HEC Paris, ranks third this year. Widely regarded as one of Europe’s elite business schools, this year's list sees HEC Paris drops across a number of metrics, most notably cohort work experience and managerial experience.
Two of the most recognizable business schools in the world, LBS and MIT Sloan, round out the top five EMBA programs. MIT retains its place in fourth while LBS enters the top five after placing seventh in 2023. Among employers, the MIT EMBA has the best reputation globally.
Two members of the highly elite M7 business schools —of which MIT is also a member—rank sixth and seventh in the 2024 ranking, the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School and Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Business. Kellogg rises from 11th in 2023 due to the strength of its reputation among employers and experience inside the classroom, while Wharton falls one place.
Yale School of Management, which ranked outside the top 10 in 13th previously, rises to place eighth in 2024. Improvements in employer reputation and the work and management experience of students help the school jump five places.
INSEAD, a top global business school which boasts campuses in France, Singapore, and Abu Dhabi drops from eighth to ninth in this year’s ranking of the best EMBA programs. Finally, IE Business School is the second Spanish institution to place among the top 10.
In total, four of the 10 best EMBA programs are based in the US, while two each are based in Spain, France, and the UK.
Positions 10 to 20 in the 2024 QS list are similarly dominated by business schools in the US. Five US EMBA programs feature here, followed by three UK-based schools and one school from Spain and Singapore, respectively,
In 11th and retaining its position from the previous year is University of California Berkeley's Haas School of Business. Spain’s ESADE Business School, the leading EMBA in the diversity and career outcomes categories, ranks 12th after dropping two places since 2023.
Another M7 school, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, drops three spaces to place 13th in this ranking of the best EMBA programs for 2024. Booth is followed by the sole representative of business schools in Asia among the top 20: National University of Singapore Business School (NUS), up one position since 2023.
The UK’s Warwick Business School and the University of Cambridge Judge Business School have the 15th and 16th best EMBA programs in the world, according to QS. They’re followed by two top US institutions: UCLA Anderson School of Management and Columbia Business School.
Imperial College Business School enters the top 20 after narrowly missing out in 2023. The prestigious London-based school ranks 19th in this year’s list. New York University’s Stern School of Business rounds out the top 20 EMBA programs ranked by QS.
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Preston Fore is a staff writer at Fortune Recommends, covering education and its intersection with business, technology, and beyond. Preston graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he studied journalism and global studies. His previous work can be found in The Daily Tar Heel and CNN.
Brad Haft is an intern at Fortune Recommends , writing on topics such as education, business, budding technologies, and emerging career paths. He also produces videos for the team's social media. A proud alumnus of the University of South Florida, he majored in broadcast journalism and minored in entrepreneurship.
Jasmine Suarez is a senior editor at Fortune Recommends, where she was hired to build and launch the department in 2022. Before joining Fortune, she was a senior editor at Business Insider , where she led various verticals on the personal finance team . In the past, she’s worked for Red Ventures, Adweek, McGraw-Hill, Pearson, and more.
If you’re looking for a fast track into the C-suite—but you have already been working in industry for several years—an executive MBA (EMBA) could be what’s just right for you. Designed for working professionals with classes often in a hybrid format or simply in the evening or on weekends, the degree can be just what your next career step needs.
Pursuing an EMBA is not easy. For the next two or so years, you’ll have to balance having a full-time job, attending class, and studying for exams—while still taking care of yourself and your family. However, the rewards on the other side—such as the potential for an increased salary and bigger responsibilities—can make it all worth it .
UNC Kenan-Flagler’s top-ranked online MBA is a top choice for experienced professionals with strong undergraduate performance. You can earn your degree at your own pace—in 18 to 36 months—without sacrificing academic quality and rigor. Access lifelong career benefits and join a global community of over 44,000 alumni with an AACSB-accredited online MBA from UNC-Chapel Hill. GMAT waivers available. Learn more today.
There are hundreds of EMBA programs across the world, according to the EMBA Council , so in order to make the initial process a little easier of finding prestigious opportunities that can lead you directly to those rewards during and shortly after programs, Fortune ranked the best executive MBA programs . For our most recent list, Northwestern (Kellogg), Columbia Business School, and University of Pennsylvania (Wharton) came out on top. Here’s how we calculated our rankings.
No EMBA program is the same, but in order to be part of our ranking, schools must be non-profit, accredited, and place value on creating a rigorous degree atmosphere. In terms of data, we considered a variety of factors, including price, student backgrounds, and student success. After consultation with our expert panel, we utilized indicators that we felt best judged the executive MBA ecosystem for 2024.
Here are the data points we used:
Data that Fortune collected:
School-provided data:
Prior to the creation of our ranking, Fortune discussed the world of EMBAs with two experts who know the space well. They’ve both worked directly with business schools, admissions counselors, and prospective students for a number of years:
By asking questions about the differences between an EMBA and other formats, EMBA curriculum, and student outcomes, we hoped to gain a better understanding of how to guide those seeking the degree. It’s noteworthy that neither expert was directly involved in ranking any programs.
EMBAs are designed for those with much more work and management experience than a traditional MBA program—which allows for students to have more nuanced discussion and learning of business issues, White says.
“It might be disruptive if you had several people, even if very smart, who were only two years into their career, who'd never experienced those situations, and they just couldn't join the discussion in the same way,” he explains.
Of the schools ranked by Fortune, the average number of years of work experience for 2023-24 entrants was a little less than 15 years; entrants also had about 8 years of management experience.
And while prestige is a big factor for many students picking their program, what may matter more is simply location. Because most EMBAs are not fully online and instead include in-person programming on a regular basis, it makes logistical sense to not enroll in a school that is based on the other side of the country, White explains.
At the same time, prospective students should do their research on the schools that interest them the most since many have EMBA offerings outside of their business school’s home turf. For example, NYU (Stern) offers an EMBA in Washington D.C., Northwestern (Kellogg) has a program in Miami, and the University of Michigan (Ross) has a location in Los Angeles.
In terms of the admissions process, while the required materials are largely similar to other MBA programs, EMBAs may require a letter from one’s current employer indicating that they will allow the time for the student to participate in relevant program activities. White also says that acceptance rates into EMBAs are generally higher since there is often coordination between admissions teams and prospective students before even applying to see if they meet standards.
Overall, the EMBA degree can lead more often to career acceleration than a complete career change for a senior, mid-level employee, White says. For example, an EMBA may be suited well for an individual who is in a technical or scientific role and wants to move into a business leadership role at the same company.
The broad learning theme sets EMBAs apart from executive MBAs, Bi explains—noting that for EMBAs, strategy is front and center. Whereas traditional MBAs focus on teaching students analytical thinking skills, EMBAs emphasize strategic thinking skills—in part because the cohorts have already reached mid-level management roles.
The average student age of a traditional MBA program may be 25 to 35, but executive MBA students typically fall in the 35 to 45 year old range, Bi predicts.
Even though EMBAs may come with a hefty price tag and require students to be masters at time management, she says those who truly put in the most effort will be the ones who succeed the most in their careers.
“I think for most programs, regardless where you are, the first thing is you have to have that drive,” Bi says. “Nobody can force you.”
Even though an EMBA may be a challenging task trying to balance school, work, and family life, Bi says students do not have an excuse to not finish out their program.
“For the majority, if you want to do that [an EMBA], just finish it,” Bi says.
Is an executive mba as good as an mba.
For those later in their career, an executive MBA can be a better choice since the student population will have more work and management experience than a traditional MBA program. This can lead to more advanced discussions and learning opportunities about some of the most challenging issues facing the business world. Overall, though, employers tend to not care or ask about the format of your MBA.
Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management has the best executive MBA program, based on Fortune’s ranking. The program has a 77% yield in terms of those matriculating after being admitted. 2023-24 admits had an average of 14 years of work experience and 9 years of management experience.
Yes, an executive MBA is worth it for those seeking to advance in their career. Graduates, on average, receive a roughly 24% compensation bump, and 42% of students receive a promotion during their program, according to 2022-2023 student exit survey data collected by the EMBA Council .
Check out all of Fortune’s rankings of degree programs , and learn more about specific career paths .
The Harvard Business Analytics Program is an online certificate program designed for established leaders in any industry. The program leverages a rigorous cross-disciplinary curriculum to help students not just analyze data but understand it, translate it, and incorporate it into strategy at the top levels of their organizations.
Mba rankings.
Take the lead.
Dual degree MBA programs offered through the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and Carey Business School prepare graduates who are exceptional at patient care and safety as well as effecting change at the health care leadership and corporate levels. This degree is offered with the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Executive Track .
The DNP Executive/MBA knows what the best clinical care looks like as well as how to make it happen with a unique understanding of the bottom line in nursing and business. You will lead health care teams while providing the evidence, ethical grounding, and business sense that forms the foundation for organizational planning.
The Flexible MBA at the Carey Business School approaches business with humanity in mind. The program focuses on real-world skills and business fundamentals viewed through a lens of integrity and ethics. The part-time program (online, part-time program) is tailored to the demands of your professional and personal life, letting you stay on your career track while earning your degree in as little at 3 years (or take up to 6).
Estimated Tuition Cost: $1,939 per credit See Cost of Attendance Details Financial Aid: There are numerous options for financing your education including grants, scholarships, federal loans, and employment programs. Learn more.
Summer entry: Nov 1 and Jan 15
Admission criteria.
Master’s Degree in Nursing from an ACEN or CCNE accredited college or university or an equivalent degree from a comparable foreign institution
Scholastic GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
RN licensure
Three Letters of Recommendation (2 professional and 1 academic preferred)*
Official Transcripts (from all previous colleges/universities)
Current Resume/CV
Goal statement/project proposal (demonstrating commitment to nursing practice and scholarly pursuit)
Two years of work experience
Interview with faculty (if moved forward by admissions committee)
Applicants who earned fewer than 552 clinical hours as part of their advanced nursing coursework should email [email protected] for information about the best pathway to your DNP**
Students should have an identified clinical/project site for conducting scholarly project at the time of matriculation
TOEFL or IELTS if English is not your native language
Information for applicants with international education
*References should be recent, written for the purpose of your application to this program and from professors who know you as a student or employers who know you as a professional in a job setting preferably in a supervisory role. Personal references from colleagues, friends, or family members do not meet the requirement. It is strongly preferred that at least one of your letters comes from someone that potentially could serve as your organizational mentor. ** Applicants are required to have 375 clinical hours as part of their advanced nursing coursework. Students who have between 375 and 552 clinical hours will have to complete additional clinical hours as part of a practicum. If you have an entry-to-practice Master’s degree, earned fewer than 552 clinical hours as part of your advanced nursing coursework, or hold a Master’s specialty in education, please email [email protected] to discuss your educational background with an Admissions Counselor.
Graduate Level Biostatistics (3 credits): Demonstrates evidence of statistical literacy and statistical reasoning enabling students to critically read and evaluate healthcare literature. Course must be completed at a regionally accredited college or university with a letter grade of B or better. Grade of B- will not be accepted.
Most students will need to take MBA Math prior to beginning classes with the Carey Business School. MBA Math is an online math tutorial designed to help reinforce the basic quantitative skills required of a business school student. If admitted, more information will be provided.
This program does not qualify for F-1 or J-1 student sponsorship. Legal Permanent Residents and non-immigrants who are otherwise physically present in the U.S. and in a status that allows for full or part-time study, may pursue this program.
No. 1 in the nation for its Doctor of Nursing Practice Program (DNP)
No. 1 (tied) in the nation for its Nursing Master’s Program (MSN)
No. 3 nursing school in the world, according to 2024 QS World University rankings
This dual degree can be completed in 66 credits with 448 practice hours.**** For a dual degree, all coursework must be completed before either degree is awarded.
The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) – Executive program’s executive session format can be completed in six semesters of study, integrating approximately 3 on-site immersions of 3-4 days each during the first year and one on-site symposium event lasting 1 day the second year combined with online and virtual learning experiences. The DNP/MBA joins the DNP Executive program in year 2 of their 3 year program.
Statistical Analysis (2) *
Business Communication (residency required for on-line students) (2) *
Accounting & Financial Reporting (2) *
Economics for Decision Making (2) *
Corporate Finance (2) *
Information Systems (2) *
Marketing Management (2) *
Advanced Nursing Health Policy (2)
Decision Models (2) *
The Firm & the Macroeconomy (2) *
Investments (2) *
Problem Discovery (3)
Operations Management (2) *
General Business Elective 1 (2)
Nursing Inquiry (3)
Leadership in Organizations (2) *
Business Law (2) *
General Business Elective 2 (2) *
Translating Evidence into Practice (3)
Project Advancement (3)
Negotiation (2) *
Analysis and Evaluation of Individual and Population Health Data (3)
General Business Elective 3(2) *
Business Leadership and Human Values (2) *
General Business Elective 4 (2) *
General Business Elective 5 (2) *
Project Application (3)
General Business Elective 6 (2) *
Project Evaluation and Dissemination(3)
Clinical Data Management and Analyses (2)
* Courses taken at Carey Business School ** Curriculum, credit hours, and sequencing are subject to change. *** A minimum of 1000 practice hours is required for DNP. **** Some MBA courses may require a residency component. Learn more about the residency requirements at the Carey Business School website.
“I feel like [DNP/MBA degrees] would complement each other and give me a strong foundation to move into nursing or health care leadership … sitting at the table to help make decisions that are impacting us on the front lines.” Ashley Ramirez, MS, RN
Join us soon for a tour, on-campus event or a virtual visit.
Speak with Admissions to learn more about our programs.
See recordings of some of our recent virtual info sessions.
Financial aid.
View the costs for the DNP Advanced Practice Program. 2024-2025
Scholarships & Grants: Grants are awards based on financial need that do not have to be repaid. Many students also benefit from scholarships and awards based on merit. Learn more.
Loans: Many students will avail themselves of loans to help finance their School of Nursing education. If necessary, we encourage you to borrow only what is absolutely essential to cover your educational costs. Learn more.
Employment: Many students locate part-time employment to help pay education expenses. Numerous positions are available on campus and within various community based organizations. These jobs provide students with opportunities to gain practical work experience. Most positions are funded through the Federal Work-Study Program. Learn more.
The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) is a doctoral degree for nurses at the highest level of nursing practice ( https://www.aacnnursing.org/Education-Resources/AACN-Essentials ). The three year DNP Executive/MBA dual degree offered through the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School will examine both clinical outcomes and the financial repercussions of those clinical outcomes through students’ scholarly projects.
Yes, our DNP/MBA program has full accreditation by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business .
GRE/GMAT scores not required.
The DNP-Executive track/MBA Dual Degree is designed to fit into the schedule of someone working full time in a clinical setting. The course work and scholarly project are intended to complement their work focus.
A dissertation is not required. A DNP scholarly project will be completed by the end of the program. The DNP final project is the students’ original work that establishes them as a Hopkins Nursing clinical scholar. Examples of scholarly projects can be found on our website here .
All applicants must have earned a minimum of 375 clinical hours as part of their post-licensure Master’s in Nursing program. Nurses who do not have advanced practice licensure should contact the Office of Admissions for an eligibility review at [email protected] .
The DNP-Executive/MBA track incorporates business content into the development of the DNP Scholarly Project. Students will take classes exclusively with the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School during the first year of the dual program. Work on the DNP Scholarly Project will commence in the second year of the dual program. Students will graduate with a DNP from the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, and a MBA from the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School.
There are seven onsite immersions associated with the DNP-Executive/MBA track that are spread throughout the three year program. Onsite visits typically run three days each. Specific onsite immersion dates will be posted on the program website.
You can learn more details about the program curriculum and application process by watching our informational video .
Developing nurse leaders is a specific aim of the program. You do not need to have leadership experience to apply. Students are prepared to excel in current or future leadership opportunities.
Students enrolling in the DNP-Executive track or DNP-MBA have an advanced Master’s degree in Nursing. Many are already Nurse Practitioners. The degree provides students with the knowledge to develop and implement evidence-based change. The program is delivered in an Executive type format, with online coursework and onsite immersions spread throughout the curriculum. The term ’Executive’ distinguishes the DNP-Executive and DNP-MBA tracks from the Advance Practice DNP tracks that lead to Advanced Practice licensure.
Contact Laura Panozzo, Assistant Director of Recruitment for the DNP Executive tracks, at [email protected] with any additional questions or to schedule a phone call to discuss ways to make your application as strong as possible.
If you are not currently working in a practice environment where a DNP project might be feasible, please contact the Office of Admissions, [email protected] , to discuss your options.
DNP Executive
Post-Master’s Healthcare Organizational Leadership Certificate
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Campus location: College of Business Administration 601 S. Morgan St. Chicago, IL 60607 312-996-2700 Email: [email protected]
Type of institution: Public
At the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) College of Business Administration, you can earn your MBA or specialized master’s degree at a pace that fits your life. And more, our program connects students to Chicago’s living classroom and empowers them with a proven education, real-world skills and professional experiences that add up to a high-value return on investment. Our six specialized master’s programs can be completed on a full- or part-time basis. Connect with us today so that we can help you find your fit and take that next step in your career.
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Size of program : 1,300 students are enrolled in 2023-24.
Graduate Degrees
Graduate certificates will soon be added.
Are full-time degree programs available ? Yes
Are part-time degree programs available ? Yes
Are fully online degree programs available ? Yes
Are some online courses available ? Yes
Flexible programs with both online and on-campus course options are available with the following: MBA, MS Accounting, MS Business Analytics, MS Finance, MS Management Information Systems, MS Marketing, MS Supply Chain and Operations Management. The MBA and MS Marketing can be completed 100% online.
Our Chicago location and our 52,000-strong alumni community provide students with enhanced opportunities to build an influential business network. Even after graduation, our alumni continue to be actively involved with UIC Business and its students, serving as mentors for current students, speakers for Executives in the Classroom, and other on- and off-campus activities.
Scholarships and other funding may be available.
Our tuition is very competitive and offers a high ROI. Tuition by the program can be found here .
Our Business Career Center partners with more than 200 employers for student internships and full-time employment, enhancing students’ career outcomes.
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Describe Your Services or Products. The business plan should have a section that explains the services or products that you're offering. This is the part where you can also describe how they fit ...
Master of Business Administration Overview. The U.S. expects 883,900 new management jobs in the next decade. It's time to earn your MBA and be ready to meet the growing demand. Attain a degree you can be proud of — and that employers will respect — from Purdue's online university for working adults. Customize your online MBA by choosing ...
Where your work meets your life. How to Make the Most Out of Your MBA. Focus on your "why.". Here are four common reasons people pursue an MBA, and how you can use your own "why" to help ...
5. Mentally Prepare. Most business school candidates expect a rigorous academic program that will be intellectually challenging, but may not expect the social demands of business school. Many former MBA students believe that the social aspects are nearly as beneficial as what you learn in the classroom.
MBA. →. Harvard Business School offers a two-year, full-time MBA program with a general management curriculum focused on real-world practice. Becoming a student at HBS means joining a global community that propels lifelong learning and career support alongside peers, faculty, and staff who will both challenge you and cheer you on as you find ...
Master Of Business Administration - MBA: A master of business administration (MBA) is a graduate degree achieved at a university or college that provides theoretical and practical training to help ...
MBA definition. MBA stands for Master of Business Administration. First introduced by Harvard University Graduate School of Administration in 1908 (now Harvard Business School ), the MBA is the original graduate degree offered by business schools globally. Having "MBA" on your resume will help you stand out to employers, but the true ...
An MBA degree is a great way to gain business skills & accelerate your career. Learn about the degree requirements, how long it takes to get the degree, salary information and more.
Learn about the best business plan software. 1. Write an executive summary. This is your elevator pitch. It should include a mission statement, a brief description of the products or services your ...
And that means you need to start earlier, go deeper, and finish stronger. There's a few ways to do that. Take the GMAT or GRE ASAP. Put in at least three to six months of study. If you're ...
Some five percent of Cambridge's most recent MBA class went into business development roles, and 11 percent went into related corporate planning / strategy positions. The school offers an MBA concentration in Strategy, which addresses core topics like competitive positioning, portfolio analysis, and mergers and acquisitions.
The business landscape is changing, and you can co-create its future. Tepper's STEM-designated MBA program delivers the analytical and leadership skills you'll need to lead where human intelligence unleashes the power of data, and interdisciplinary teamwork drives innovation. Final deadline to apply for Online Hybrid MBA is June 10th, 2024!
If you see yourself as a change-maker and a visionary, the MBA in Business Strategy might be the ideal fit for you. According to a report from Strategy&, PwC's strategy consulting arm, companies that had leaders who were most committed to (and confident in) their strategies grew faster and were more profitable than their peers.Only 37% of those surveyed in the report felt their company had a ...
No logging in, no set class times—you are in the driver's seat of your education. WGU's one-year* MBA allows you to finish your Master in Business Administration program in only 12 months for just $9,510. * Program can be completed in as little as 12 months. Pricing is based on 12-month completion of the program.
The MBA, which stands for Master in Business Administration, is the world's most popular business degree.. According to research by the Graduate Management Admission Council (), almost half of all business school applicants think about doing an MBA.One of the main reasons to get an MBA is its broad, practical curriculum, which is designed to bring you up to speed with all the main functions ...
Amy Gallo. People make business plans for all sorts of reasons — to attract funding, evaluate future growth, build partnerships, or guide development. Unfortunately, the vast majority of these ...
Applications for 2024 entry are now open. Apply now or register your interest to hear about postgraduate study and events at the University of Sheffield. MBA. 2024 startSeptember. MBA (Master of Business Administration) Management School, Faculty of Social Sciences. Triple Crown accreditation means we meet the high standards of three of the ...
If the answer is yes, then you need a business plan.. This seems like an extremely daunting task, but if you understand your business, it won't be hard at all. It's simply a matter of organizing the information in a clear, concise manner.. The following article discusses how to write the perfect business plan, including the types of business plans most commonly used, top 10 do's and don ...
Here is a guide to help you get started on your business plan: 1. Executive Summary. What It Is: This section summarizes your business plan as a whole and outlines your company profile and goals.
Financial Plan: This is the most important element of a business plan and is primarily addressed to investors and sponsors. It requires a firm to reveal its financial policies and market analysis. At times, a 5-year financial report is also required to be included to show past performances and profits.
This section of your business plan outline is crucial for showing potential investors what makes your products and services unique and valuable. Clearly describe what your business offers, emphasizing your unique selling propositions (USPs) and the benefits and features that set you apart from the competition. Talk about the product life cycle ...
The business model canvas is a one-page template designed to demystify the business planning process. It removes the need for a traditional, copy-heavy business plan, in favor of a single-page outline that can help you and outside parties better explore your business idea. The structure ditches a linear format in favor of a cell-based template.
While other nationally leading MBA programs charge, on average, roughly $1,605 per credit and can cost upwards of $150,000 to complete, KU's online master of business administration program costs just $865 per course credit*—nearly half the price without compromising on excellence. 1 Additionally, earning KU's online MBA can cost a third of what it costs at other top 10 programs.
The exceptional MBA student experience at Lee Business School Offers a supportive and dynamic environment that fosters both personal and professional growth. Students benefit from a diverse array of opportunities, including access to industry leaders, professional development resources, and a vibrant community of peers and alumni. ...
When considering an MBA program within the context of your professional goals, think about whether you are pursuing it to meet a requirement for a specific position or for other reasons. Think about whether you plan on attending classes in person, or if an online degree program would make more sense for your lifestyle.
Another M7 school, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, drops three spaces to place 13th in this ranking of the best EMBA programs for 2024. Booth is followed by the sole representative of business schools in Asia among the top 20: National University of Singapore Business School (NUS), up one position since 2023.
UNC Kenan-Flagler's top-ranked online MBA is a top choice for experienced professionals with strong undergraduate performance. You can earn your degree at your own pace—in 18 to 36 months ...
The Flexible MBA at the Carey Business School approaches business with humanity in mind. The program focuses on real-world skills and business fundamentals viewed through a lens of integrity and ethics. The part-time program (online, part-time program) is tailored to the demands of your professional and personal life, letting you stay on your career track while earning your degree in as little ...
Flexible programs with both online and on-campus course options are available with the following: MBA, MS Accounting, MS Business Analytics, MS Finance, MS Management Information Systems, MS ...